CSA celebrates the stars of TOMORROW
Posted by: Cricket South Africa on Wednesday, 6 June 2012

Rate this article: Average Rating:
Article Views:

Cricket South Africa (CSA) on Wednesday, hosted its fourth annual CSA Awards Breakfast in association with KFC where the stars of the amateur cricket scene were honoured in a plush ceremony at Summer Place in Sandton.

Ewie Cronje, father to the late Hansie Cronje, received the Khaya Majola Lifetime Achievement Award honours this year for his pioneering work in the development of the game in the Free State which spans almost 60 years. The former President of the Orange Free State Cricket Union and co-founder of the Free State Cricket Union was also the Cricket Master at the University of Free State, sharing his knowledge and experience with both players and administrators alike. He walked away with the highly commended award named after the late Khaya Majola, one of the pioneers of rural cricket development in the country.

The Awards Breakfast commemorates the accomplishments of the burgeoning talent in the country, as CSA continues to drive its vision of making cricket a truly national sport of winners.

Shandré Fritz concluded a successful year for both the national women's team and her Provincial side, Western Province, when she walked away with the CSA Women's Cricketer of the Year award. Suné Luus' stellar work during the CSA Girls U19 Week saw her take the Girls U19 Player of the Tournament award. Her performance during this tournament earned her a well deserved call up to the national squad and saw her make her debut against the England Women's Academy in April of this year.

Other big winners were SA U19 captain, Quinton De Kock, who was named the U19 Player of the Year. De Kock excelled with the bat, leading his team to victory in the CSA Youth Triangular Series against Pakistan and Zimbabwe in January.

The Coca-Cola Khaya Majola U19 Player of the Tournament was awarded to Griqualand West batsman, Diego Rosier. Rosier walked away with the CSA Schools T20 Player of the Tournament award in 2011 and had promised himself that he would work hard enough to return to collect the coveted Coca-Cola Khaya Majola U19 Player of the Tournament award. His outstanding performances with the bat during the tournament earned him this well deserved award and a reason to be proud of attaining his goal.

 CSA Acting CEO, Jacques Faul said: "Awards ceremonies like these remind us that this is really all about the players, everything we do is to secure a brighter future for the next generation. We all work so hard to ensure that the future is brighter for them. I want to express my heartiest congratulations to all the winners this morning and I wish them all of the very best for the coming season."

 Gurshwin Rabie and Ross McMillan won the premier CSA First- Class awards as the three-day and one-day players in the respective competitions. Dwaine Pretorius was the first recipient of the CSA Provincial T20 Cricketer of the Year. The award came as a result of the addition of the T20 format to the CSA Provincial competition. Pretorius averaged 59 runs at a strike rate of 190 including 13 sixes and 12 fours to outshine his peers and become the first recipient of the award. 

Simon Harmer received the Student Cricketer of the Year award for the second year running after a successful USSA A Week campaign with the bat. His efforts earned him the captaincy of the USSA team at the CSA Future Cup T20 competition in Kimberley in April.

Matric student, Tian Koekemoer claimed the CSA Rural Cricketer of the Year award after a remarkable Rural Cricket Week with both bat and ball for Limpopo at the annual week.

The KFC Mini-Cricket programme has increased by 20 percent since KFC's sponsorship of the programme began, this far exceeds the 10 percent target set by KFC and CSA for its Unions. KFC partnered with CSA two years ago with the aim of reaching as many children as possible to promote an active and balanced lifestyle.  The increase in participation would not have been possible without the 6 000 or so coaches who manage the programme. Each year KFC Mini-cricket salutes one of these volunteers by naming him or her the KFC Mini-Cricket Coach of the Year. This year that person is Angela Cilliers of the Matatiele district of KwaZulu-Natal.


Cilliers was given this prestigious award in recognition of her passion for the programme and for the boys and girls she coaches. Her leadership, organisational and motivational qualities have been commended in the running of the programme in her district.  She has not been involved for as many years as some of the former winners, but her commitment, quality of her work and the drive to get children leading an active and balanced lifestyle makes her a worthy recipient.

“The past season focused on growing the programme and this upcoming season is about endorsing the active and balanced lifestyle message and informing the public why KFC is so passionate about this programme” commented Dave Timm, Chief Marketing Officer of KFC

The Awards Breakfast is followed by the 2012 CSA Golf invitational where the Proteas play a round of golf with key stakeholders of cricket. Tonight, the cricket family gathers at the Sandton Convention Centre, to pay tribute to the stars of professional cricket at the 2012 SA Cricket Awards Gala Dinner. 

Fans will be able to follow all of the live action across CSA’s online social platforms. CSA’s Facebook and twitter pages, which boast a combined number of  just under 291 000 members will be a hive of activity with first hand news, pictures and comments from those attending all three events, as and when they happen.

2012 SA Cricket Awards Breakfast Winners

CSA Under-15 Player of the Tournament                                         Ryan Rickelton

CSA Schools Pro20 Player of the Tournament                                 Hanno Khotze

CSA Under-17 Player of the Tournament                                         Wesley Marchall

CSA Girls Under-19 Player of the Tournament                                Suné Luus

CSA Women's Cricketer of the Year                                                   Shandré Fritz

Coca-Cola Khaya Majola Under-19 Player of the Tournament      Diego Rosier

CSA Under-19 Cricketer of the Year                                                    Quinton De Kock

CSA Student Cricketer of the Year                                                       Simon Harmer

CSA September Club Championships Player of the Tournament                  Maurice Aronstam

CSA April Club Championships Player of the Tournament           Alwyn Vorster

CSA Rural Cricketer of the Year                                                         Tian Koekemoer

CSA Blind Cricketer of the Year                                                          Sonwabile Bidla

CSA Deaf Cricketer of the Year                                                          Colin Venter

CSA Intellectually Impaired Cricketer of the Year                           Luyanda Mfungula

CSA Provincial Three Day Cricketer of the Year                               Gurshwin Rabie

CSA Provincial One Day Cricketer of the Year                                  Ross McMillan

CSA Provincial T20 Cricketer of the Year                                           Dwaine Pretorius

KFC Mini-Cricket Coach of the Year                                                    Angela Cilliers

Khaya Majola Lifetime Achievement Award                                      Ewie Cronje


Facebook comments:

© Copyright 2012 Cricket South Africa, All Rights Reserved Designed and developed by flagshipweb