CLT20 squads announced
Posted by: Champions League on Friday, 14 September 2012

Rate this article: Average Rating:
Article Views:

The Karbonn Smart Champions League Twenty20 2012 is set to be an explosive tournament after confirmation of each team’s final squad.

Team line-ups are again brimming with the world’s elite T20 talent as the champion domestic teams from a record eight countries chase the US$2.5m first prize from a total pool (including participation fees) of US$13m.

Mr. N. Srinivasan, Chairman, CLT20 Governing Council, said:

“The fourth edition of the Champions League Twenty20 is only a few weeks away. The squads that will be playing in the tournament speak for themselves. They comprise the finest cricketing talent on this planet.

“We are in for some extraordinary cricket, in what will surely be a thriller of a competition.”

Mr Dean Kino, CLT20 Governing Council Member and Director of Legal and Business Affairs, said:

“Last year’s tournament showed the fine line between making the finals and early elimination. Given the high stakes and small margin for error in the Qualifier and Group Stage, some of world cricket’s biggest names who are eligible for more than one team have been in high demand.

“According to CLT20 rules, if a player qualifies for more than one team, all those qualifying teams can nominate that player. When a player decides to play for an ‘away’ team rather than his ‘home’ team, the team from the country he is eligible to represent in international cricket, the ‘away’ team must pay US$150,000 compensation to the ‘home’ team.”

Kieron Pollard, Mike Hussey, the Morkel brothers and Sunil Narine, were among the nine players named initially by more than one squad which required each player to nominate the team they would play for. All players listed below have chosen to play for their ‘away’ team.

Players nominated by more than one team:

  • Dwayne Bravo – Trinidad & Tobago* / Chennai Super Kings
  • Francois du Plessis – Titans* / Chennai Super Kings
  • Sunil Narine - Trinidad & Tobago* / Kolkata Knight Riders
  • Mike Hussey – Perth Scorchers* / Chennai Super Kings
  • Mitch Johnson – Perth Scorchers* / Mumbai Indians
  • Brett Lee – Sydney Sixers* / Kolkata Knight Riders
  • Albie Morkel – Titans* / Chennai Super Kings
  • Morne Morkel – Titans* / Delhi Daredevils
  • Kieron Pollard - Trinidad & Tobago* / Mumbai Indians

Note: *designates ‘home’ team

The 2012 Karbonn Champions League Twenty20 will feature a record 14 champion teams from India (4), Australia (2), South Africa (2), England (2), New Zealand (1), Sri Lanka (1), West Indies (1) and Pakistan (1) for the first time. Eight teams have automatically qualified for the Group Stage while the remaining six teams will compete for the remaining two places via a Qualifier. 

The Qualifier will start on 9 October before the Group Stage starts on 13 October.  The Final will be played on Sunday 23 October in Johannesburg. The full match schedule is available from

Last year’s Champion Mumbai Indians and 2010 Champion Chennai Super Kings headline the returning teams.  Both teams will be playing in their third CLT20 tournament along with Trinidad & Tobago, the 2009 CLT20 Finalist. Of the other teams, Highveld Lions, Auckland Aces, Delhi Daredevils and Kolkata Knight Riders are making return visits.

Six teams will be making their first appearance in the tournament – England’s Hampshire and Yorkshire, South Africa’s Titans, Pakistan’s Sialkot Stallions and Australia’s two new Big Bash League Twenty20 teams, the Sydney Sixers and Perth Scorchers.

CLT20 commercial rights holder ESPN Star Sports and its broadcast partners will again beam the action live around the world as a record number of teams battle to claim the world’s most prestigious prize in domestic cricket.

Karbonn Smart Champions League Twenty20 Squads

Auckland Aces

Chennai Super Kings

Delhi Daredevils


Andre Adams

R Ashwin

Varun Aaron

James Adams

Michael Bates

S Badrinath

Ajit Agarkar

Shahid Afridi

Brad Cachopa

Doug Bollinger

Unmukt Chand

Kabir Ali

Colin de Grandhomme

Dwayne Bravo

Mahela Jayawardene (c)

Michael Bates

Martin Guptill

MS Dhoni (c)

Morne Morkel

Daniel Briggs

Ronnie Hira

Faf Du Plessis

Pawan Negi

Michael Carberry

Gareth Hopkins (c)

Ben Hilfenhaus

Naman Ojha

Liam Dawson

Anaru Kitchen

Michael Hussey

Irfan Pathan

Sean Ervine

Mitchell McClenaghan

Ravindra Jadeja

Kevin Pietersen

David Griffiths

Azhar Mahmood

Albie Morkel

Venugopal Rao

Dimitri Mascarenhas

Bruce Martin

Suresh Raina

Andre Russell

Glenn Maxwell

Chris Martin

Wriddhiman Saha

Virender Sehwag

Hamza Riazuddin

Kyle Mills

Anirudh Srikkanth

Ross Taylor

Bilal Shafayat

Colin Munro

Murali Vijay

David Warner

James Vince

Lou Vincent

V. Yomahesh

Umesh Yadav

Christopher Wood

Highveld Lions

Kolkata Knight Riders

Mumbai Indians

Perth Scorchers

Temba Bavuma

Iqbal Abdullah

Mitchell Johnson

Tom Beaton

Gulam Bodi

Shakib Al Hasan

Dinesh Karthik

Michael Beer

Zander de Bruyn

L Balaji

Dhawal Kulkarni

Paul Collingwood

Quinton de Kock

Rajat Bhatia

Richard Levi

Nathan Coulter-Nile

Neil McKenzie

Manvinder Bisla

Lasith Malinga

Ryan Duffield

Pumelela Matshikwe

Gautam Gambhir (c)

Pragyan Ojha

Ben Edmondson

Chris Morris

Jacques Kallis

Munaf Patel

Herschelle Gibbs

Dirk Nannes

Brett Lee

Thisara Perera

Brad Hogg

Ethan O'Reilly

Brendon McCullum

Kieron Pollard

Simon Katich

Alviro Petersen

Sunil Narine

Ambati Rayudu

Mitchell Marsh

Aaron Phangiso

Yusuf Pathan

Rohit Sharma

Shaun Marsh

Dwaine Pretorius

Laxmi Ratan Shukla

Harbhajan Singh

Joe Mennie

Jean Symes

Mohammed Shami

Dwayne Smith

Marcus North

Sohail Tanveer

Ryan Ten Doeschate

Sachin Tendulkar

Nathan Rimmington

Thami Tsolekile

Manoj Tiwary

Surya Kumar Yadav

Luke Ronchi

Sialkot Stallions

Sydney Sixers


Trinidad & Tobago

Qaisar Abbas

Pat Cummins

Farhaan Behardien

Samuel Badree

Sarfraz Ahmad

Brad Haddin (c)

Henry Davids

Adrian Barath

Shakeel Ansar

Josh Hazlewood

Marchant de Lange

Darren Bravo

Umaid Asif

Moises Henriques

AB de Villiers

Kevon Cooper

Muhammad Ayub

Michael Lumb

Paul Harris

Rayad Emrit

Bilawal Bhatti

Nathan McCullum

Heino Kuhn

Shannon Gabriel

Raza Hasan

Nic Maddinson

Eden Links

Sherwin Ganga

Ali Khan

Ian Moran

Ethy Mbhalati

Evin Lewis

Shoaib Malik (c)

Peter Nevill

Mangaliso Mosehle

Jason Mohammed

Imran Nazir

Stephen O'Keefe

Rowan Richards

Yannick Ottley

Faisal Naveed

Ben Rohrer

Jacques Rudolph

William Perkins

Rana Naveed

Steven Smith

Alfonso Thomas

Denesh Ramdin (c)

Abdur Rehman

Mitchell Starc

Roelof van der Merwe

Ravi Rampaul

Haris Sohail

Dominic Thornely

Martin van Jaarsveld (c)

Lendl Simmons

Shahid Yousaf

Shane Watson

David Wiese

Navin Stewart

Uva Next


Fawwad Alam

Moin Ashraf

Shivnarine Chanderpaul

Jonny Bairstow

Dilhara Fernando

Gary Ballance

Umar Gul

Andrew Gale

Charith Jayampathi

Oliver Hannon-Daly

Chintaka Jayasinghe

Dan Hodgson

Thilina Kandamby (c)

Phil Jaques

Andrew McDonald

Adam Lyth

Dilshan Munaweera

David Miller

Jacob Oram

Steve Patterson

Seekuge Prasanna

Azeem Rafiq

Bhanuka Rajapakse

Adil Rashid

Sachitra Senanayake

Joe Root

Upul Tharanga

Ryan Sidebottom

Sameera Zoysa

Iain Wardlaw


Facebook comments:

© Copyright 2012 Cricket South Africa, All Rights Reserved Designed and developed by flagshipweb