Morris claims eight to destroy Dolphins
Posted by: Cricket South Africa on Sunday, 30 September 2012

Rate this article: Average Rating:
Article Views:

CHRIS MORRIS tore through the Sunfoil Dolphins batting line-up on the final morning of their Sunfoil Series match against the bizhub Highveld Lions at Bidvest Wanderers on Sunday to wrap up a 53-run win for the hosts.


Morris finished with career best figures of 8/44.


The Lions needed just an hour and 20 minutes to finish off the match which had appeared overnight to be heading for a Dolphins win, but Morris’s stunning spell of four wickets for 14 runs in 8.3 overs put paid to that.


The Dolphins resumed on their overnight total of 149 for four, needing 92 runs to win. With David Miller and Cody Chetty at the crease, they would have been quietly confident of reaching that target with ease.


But Morris, who took the first four wickets to fall on Saturday afternoon, had other ideas. It did not take long for him to get into action, aided by a brilliant diving catch by stand-in wicketkeeper Quinton de Kock, to dismiss David Miller for 31.


In his next over, Morris got rid of Cody Chetty for 16, thanks once again to a superb diving catch from De Kock.  Then, not to be left out of the action,  Hardus Viljoen claimed the wicket of captain Daryn Smit, who gloved the ball  straight to Neil McKenzie at first slip for five.


After that it was just a sorry procession of Dolphins batsmen, who watched the game slip away over by over.  Robbie Frylinck completely missed a straight delivery from Morris that crashed into his off-stump, Kyle Abbott’s middle stump was sent cart-wheeling by a Viljoen delivery, and Morris wrapped up the innings when Craig Alexander top-edged the ball to Pumi Matshikwe at fine leg.  The Dolphins were all out for 187.


Morris’s match figures were 12/101 and his second innings figures 8/44.  He now holds the record for the best bowling in a match and in an innings for the Lions, surpassing Garnett Kruger’s 8/112 and 11/90.




Facebook comments:

© Copyright 2012 Cricket South Africa, All Rights Reserved Designed and developed by flagshipweb