Western Province, Border unbeaten on day three
Posted by: Cricket South Africa on Tuesday, 18 December 2012

Rate this article: Average Rating:
Article Views:

The only two teams who have won all their matches at the end of day three of the 2012 Coca-Cola Khaya Majola Under-19 Week in Potchefstroom are Western Province (WP) and Border.  Gauteng is the only other team that also boasts an undefeated record in the tournament so far. Their first match of the tournament ended in a draw against Griqualand West.


The 16 teams played two Twenty20 matches each on Wednesday.  Only four of the teams namely;  WP; Border; Eastern Province and Gauteng managed to pick up victories in both of their matches.


WP were given a proper scare in their first match against South Western Districts (SWD). Western Province could only win the match by two runs. The team had its unbeaten status secured with a 41 run victory over Free State in his second match of the day.


The most exciting match of the day was definitely the between Border and KwaZulu-Natal Inland at Senwes Park. Inland’s captain, Robert Anderson lead his team from the front with an unbeaten 61 runs from only 51 deliveries. He was supported by Luc Maingard who weighed in with 46 runs.


Border’s captain and opening batsman, Kirwan Christoffels (41, 30b) continued his good form with the bat and laid a good foundation for his team's attempt to keep its undefeated status. Border needed three runs from the last over of Kerwin Mungroo to secure victory. Mungroo bowled well and managed to put the pressure back on Border with them needing two runs from the last delivery.


Runé Oosthuizen (21 *) struck the last delivery through midwicket past the inner ring and ran the through for the two needed runs.


The best performance by a player on the day was by South Western Districts' Arno Moolman. The seamer picked up five wickets while conceding a mere 16 runs. His performance helped his side defeat KwaZulu-Natal by 51 runs.


Round 2


Western Province 127/6 (David Beddingham 28, Clyde Fortuin 26; Vasili Orros 2/8, Hanco Olivier 2/16); Free State 86 (Ryan du Plessis 21).

Western Province won by 41 runs.


North West 105 (Pieter Knoetze 21 (14b), Rupert Viljoen 20; Bjorn Fortuin 3/7, Curtley Louw 2/16); Boland 89 (Zeeko Alexander 17 (14b); Shane de Beer 3/7, Gerald Ngwenyana 3/22). North West won by 16 runs.


Eastern Province 171/5 (Shaun Osborne 58 (46b), Curtis Samboer 42 (36b), Bradley Bopp 37* (17b); Nhlanha Nkosi 2/29); Mpumalanga 107 (Carus van Rensburg 30 (20b); Anrich Nortjé 2/15, Shaakir Abrahams 2/19). Eastern Province won by 64 runs.


Gauteng 136/6 (Shaylen Pillay 51 (46b); Jurie Snyman 3/25); Easterns

103/9 (Antonie Muller 48 (47b); Yaseen Valli 3/13, Steven McIntyre 2/11). Gauteng won by 33 runs.


Northerns 136/6 (Jacobus Pienaar 32 * (16b); Bruce Siburi 3/28); Limpopo 114/4 (Landré Coetzee 46 (42b), Tian Koekemoer 37). Northerns won by 22 runs.


South Western Districts 152/5 (Morné Visagie 63 (48b), Juan Heunis 31 (18b); Luke Schlemmer 2/35); KwaZulu-Natal 101 (Taariq Booley 31*; Arno Moolman 5/16). South Western Districts won by 51 runs.


Griqualand West 109/3 (Sergio Arends 44, Diego Rosier 30; JJ Smit 1/4); Namibia 97/8 (Michau du Preez 39; Aiden Brooker 3/11).

Griqualand West won by 12 runs.


KwaZulu-Natal Inland 143/4 (Robert Anderson 63* (51b), L Maingard 46 (44b); Onke Nyaku 2/20); Border 144/7 (Kirwan Christoffels 41 (30b), Tim Niemand 22 (19b), Runé Oosthuizen 21* (20b); Darryn du Pavillon 1/16). Border won by three wickets.



Facebook comments:

© Copyright 2012 Cricket South Africa, All Rights Reserved Designed and developed by flagshipweb