Titans limp to 198 for 7 at tea
Posted by: CSA Staff on Thursday, 3 January 2013

Rate this article: Average Rating:
Article Views:

Roelof van der Merwe scored an unbeaten 49 to guide the Nasua Titans to 198 for seven at tea on day one of their Sunfoil Series match against the Chevrolet Warriors at Supersport Park in Centurion on Thursday.

The Nashua Titans had gone into lunch on 79 for four, after losing two quick wickets just before lunch. As was the case before lunch, the Nashua Titans lost two quick wickets after lunch, followed by a third.

Heino Kuhn and David Wiese added 58 runs for the fifth wicket before Kuhn edged a ball from Simon Harmer to the 'keeper, for 25. His partner, Wiese, fell shortly thereafter, becoming Gurshwin Rabie's third victim. Rabie castled Wiese for a well played 35, which included three fours and a six. 

At 138 for six, the Nashua Titans needed to consolidate, but lost the wicket of Shaun Liebisch for two, lbw to Rabie, with the score on 148.

But it was Van der Merwe and CJ de Villiers who posted an undefeated 50 run partnership for the eighth wicket to give some respectability to the Nashua Titans scorecard.

The Nashua Titans had won the toss earlier in the day and decided to bat first, but lost the early wickets of Mangaliso Mosehle (0), bowled by Rabie, then Pieter Malan (8) was caught at fourth slip by Simon Harmer off Rabie with the score on 13 for two.

Henry Davids (27) and Farhaan Berhardien (39) added 63 runs for the third wicket before both were out in the space of two overs. Davids was stumped off Harmer while Christiaan Jonker picked up the wicket of Berhardien.

Rabie has bowled beautifully all day and returned figures of 18-9-30-4, while receiving great support from Harmer, who took two wickets for 55.

Nashua Titans: Pieter Malan, Mangaliso Mosehle, Henry Davids (capt), Farhaan Berhardien, Heino Kuhn (w/k), David Wiese, Roelof van der Merwe, Shaun Liebisch, CJ de Villiers, Paul Harris, Ethy Mbhalati.

Chevrolet Warriors: Michael Price, Davy Jacobs (capt), Arno Jacobs, Ashwell Prince, Colin Ingram, Christiaan Jonker, Adrian McLaren (w/k), Simon Harmer, Basheer Walters, Ayabulela Gqamane, Gurshwin Rabie.



Facebook comments:

© Copyright 2012 Cricket South Africa, All Rights Reserved Designed and developed by flagshipweb