Second and Du Preez dominate
Posted by: CSA Staff on Saturday, 12 January 2013

Rate this article: Average Rating:
Article Views:

Rudi Second edged closer to reaching a double ton and Dillon du Preez scored an unbeaten century, his second in First Class cricket as the Knights continued their fight back in their Sunfoil Series clash against the Nashua Titans at Willowmoore Park in Benoni.

The pair combined for a fighting 252-run partnership to take the Knights to 442-7 at the tea break, leading the Titans by 107 runs.

Second was unbeaten on 192 off 205 balls, including 19 fours and one six while du Preez looked solid at the other end on 118 off 210 balls,  with 15 fours and two sixes under his belt as they continued to lead the Knights’ charge on day three while the Titans’ bowlers had no solutions for unsettling the two.

The Knights went to lunch on day three on 319-7, having recovered from

190-7 and after the hosts put on a good performance on Friday, restricting the visitors to 190-7 at stumps on day two, still 145 runs behind, they failed to capitalised on a solid start.

 The Knights had gotten their reply off to a shaky start on day two with both of their top order batsmen falling cheaply and the middle order wobbling. Ryan Bailey steadied the ship with his 40 off 101, but the tail continued to flop as CJ de Villiers ripped the Knights apart, claiming figures of 16-3-46-4. But everything would change on day three with Second and du Preez refusing to budge.

The Titans, in their desperation, have used nine different bowlers in an attempt to get a breakthrough, but the two men at the crease have not looked troubled at all.






NASHUA TITANS: Pieter Malan, Mangaliso Mosehle, Henry Davids (capt), Roelof van der Merwe, Heino Kuhn, Farhaan Behardien, Graeme van Buuren, JP de villiers, Shaun von Berg, Ethy Mbalathi, CJ de Villiers


CHEVROLET KNIGHTS:  Gihan Cloete, Ryan Second, Rilee Rossouw, Ryan Bailey, Obus Pienaar, Patrick Botha, Johan van der Wath, Dillion du Preez, Quinton Friend, Malusi Siboto

Facebook comments:

© Copyright 2012 Cricket South Africa, All Rights Reserved Designed and developed by flagshipweb