Warriors trail by 189 on opening day
Posted by: CSA Staff on Thursday, 17 January 2013

Rate this article: Average Rating:
Article Views:

The Chevrolet Warriors still trail by 189 runs, but they took the plaudits on day one of their Sunfoil Series clash against the Chevrolet Knights at Chevrolet Park on Thursday.

Having bowled out the hosts for 268, the Chevrolet Warriors made their way to 79 for two at stumps, with Arno Jacobs (33) and Ashwell Prince (24) still at the crease. Michael Price fell to the second ball of the innings, trapped in front by Dillon du Preez, and skipper Davy Jacobs was caught behind off Romano Terblanche for 18.

Earlier the Chevrolet Knights had won the toss and elected to bat first, but were made to regret that quickly, as they fell to 96 for six by lunch. Gurshwin Rabie, who ended with figures of four for 63, accounted for Rudi Second (5), Dean Elgar (4), Ryan Bailey (9) and Obus Pienaar (0) in an inspired spell.

While those wickets were tumbling, Rilee Rossouw kept on going at a merry pace at the other end, and reached a fighting half-century on the stroke of lunch, off just 49 balls. After the break, Rossouw and Terblanche (17) added a useful 39, before the latter was ousted by Simon Harmer.

Du Preez then entered the fray and flayed a defiant 88 not out which gave the Chevrolet Knights something to bowl at. He clubbed two sixes and thirteen fours, and helped Rossouw reach a fine, 12th first-class ton off 107 balls, before he fell to Ayabulela Gqamane soon afterwards.

Malusi Siboto (9) and Corne Dry (5) hung around long enough for Du Preez to add another77 runs to the score after Rossouw’s demise. That lifted them to a far healthier 268 all out.

The early wicket of Price, to the rampant Du Preez, gave the Chevrolet Knights hope of pegging the visitors back, too, but Jacobs and Prince settled in ominously, and they will be looking to make hay on day two.


Chevrolet Knights: Rudi Second (wk), Michael Erlank, Rillee Rossouw, Dean Elgar, Ryan Bailey, Obus Pienaar, Patrick Botha, Romano Terblanche (c), Dillon du Preez, Corne Dry, Malusi Siboto.

Chevrolet Warriors: Michael Price, Davy Jacobs (c), Arno Jacobs, Ashwell Prince, Vuyisa Makhaphela, Christiaan Jonker, Simon Harmer, Andrew McLaren (wk), Andrew Birch, Ayabulela Gqamane, Gurshwin Rabie



Facebook comments:

© Copyright 2012 Cricket South Africa, All Rights Reserved Designed and developed by flagshipweb