Vandiar gives Dolphins a chance
Posted by: CSA Staff on Friday, 18 January 2013

Rate this article: Average Rating:
Article Views:

A fighting 78-run knock from Jonathan Vandiar put the Sunfoil Dolphins in a competitive position at the end of day two of their Sunfoil Series match against the Nashua Mobile Cape Cobras at Sahara Park Newlands on Friday.

The Sunfoil Dolphins, who flopped in their first innings, fought back as the Nashua Mobile Cape Cobras were dismissed for 206 for a narrow 32-run. While the visitors’ batting slumped again in parts, they ended the day on 210-0, 178 runs head of the Nashua Mobile Cape Cobras.

The hosts picked up five wickets relatively quickly on the second day, following up a spectacularly magic spell from Beuran Hendricks on day one, but the Sunfoil Dolphins also managed to cling on for some hope as the match continued to flow up and down.

The Sunfoil Dolphins’ second innings started much like their first, though, and Hendricks got rid of Imraan Khan just before the lunch break, trapping him leg before wicket.

Justin Kemp then struck to get rid of Divan van Wyk, the hero of the visitors’ first innings, before sending Vaughan van Jaarsveld on his way too and the Dolphins were in all sorts of trouble, going to lunch at 22-3.

Khaya Zondo was out shortly after the break for three as Hendricks picked up his second wicket and Cody Chetty departed for 16, caught behind off Johann Louw.

Skipper Daryn Smit  and Vandiar then combined for a solid 84-run partnership before Smit was dismissed for 24 as Lizaad Williams struck with the batsman hitting straight to fine leg.

Vandiar followed, caught behind pushing forward, after a fighting 78 off 139 balls as Louw picked up his second stick.

The tail continued to irk the home side who will have to return on day three to still take one wicket before they can start their chase as the Dolphins ended the second day with Mthokozisi Shezi and Keshav Maharaj still at the crease and a 178-run lead in hand.


 Nashua Mobile Cape Cobras: Alistair Gray, Andrew Puttick, Stiaan van Zyl, Justin Ontong, Qaasim Adams, Dane Vilas, Justin Kemp, Johann Louw, Dane Piedt, Beuran Hendricks, Lizaad Williams

Sunfoil Dolphins: Imraan Khan, Divan van Wyk, Jonathan Vandiar, Vaughn van Jaarsveld, Cody Chetty, Khaya Zondo, Daryn Smit, Kyle Abbott, Calvin Savage, Keshav Maharaj, Mthokozisi Shezi


Facebook comments:

© Copyright 2012 Cricket South Africa, All Rights Reserved Designed and developed by flagshipweb