Franklin leads NZ to narrow victory
Posted by: Cricket South Africa on Saturday, 19 January 2013

Rate this article: Average Rating:
Article Views:

James Franklin struck an unbeaten 47 to guide New Zealand to a remarkable one-wicket victory over South Africa in the Momentum One-Day Series at Boland Park in Paarl on Saturday.

Franklin, with support from Kyle Mills (26) and Nathan McCullum (24), saw the Black Caps home when Franklin struck Ryan McLaren through the covers for the winning runs. McLaren gave the home side a sniff of a chance when he bowled Mills with 22 runs still needed for victory, but Franklin and Mitchell McClenaghan defied the South African attack.

Rob Nicol (4), Martin Guptill (0) and Kane Williamson (5) were not able to offer any resistance to the South African attack. But a 78-ball 45 from BJ Watling, as well as Franklin's knock, gave the visitors belief for the rest of the series, as the visitors were struggling on 140 for eight and looked out of the match.

McLaren was the pick of the South African bowlers as he finished with 4-46 from 8.4 overs. Lonwabo Tsotsobe and Rory Kleinveldt, each picked up two wickets while Dale Steyn went wicket-less, conceding 33 runs in his 10 overs. South Africa conceded a staggering 31 extras which included 15 wides and three no-balls.

Earlier, South Africa had laboured to 208 all out, after McClenaghan and Williamson both grabbed four wickets. The Proteas were bowled out in the 47th over, as Rory Kleinveldt was last man out, trying to add some impetus to the innings.

Faf du Plessis made a workman-like 57, which came off 72 deliveries and included three boundaries. McLaren scored a brisk 33 off just 39 balls with three fours, while Kleinveldt smashed Kyle Mills for three sixes, and was last man out, scoring 26 of just 20 balls.

The 26-year old McClenaghan enjoyed a wonderful debut with the ball, finishing with figures of 10-2-20-4, while Williamson claimed 4-22 from 7.2 overs.

South Africa: Hashim Amla, Graeme Smith, Colin Ingram, AB de Villiers (capt), Faf du Plessis, Quinton de Kock (w/k), Ryan McLaren, Robin Peterson, Rory Kleinveldt, Dale Steyn, Lonwabo Tsotsobe

New Zealand: Rob Nicol, Martin Guptill, Brendon McCullum (capt, w/k), Kane Williamson, BJ Watling, James Franklin, Jimmy Neesham, Nathan McCullum, Grant Elliott, Kyle Mills, Mitchell McClenaghan



Facebook comments:

© Copyright 2012 Cricket South Africa, All Rights Reserved Designed and developed by flagshipweb