Titans all out for 194 as Cobras take control
Posted by: CSA on Thursday, 31 January 2013

Rate this article: Average Rating:
Article Views:

The Nashua Titans collapsed in a heap on the first day of their Sunfoil Series clash against the Nashua Mobile Cape Cobras as the hosts went to tea after stuttering to 194 all out at Willomoore Park in Benoni on Thursday.

A 78-run partnership between Roelof van der Merwe and Shaun von Berg spared the defending champions some of their blushes as not a single player  managed more than 47 and the Cobras were in firm control at the tea break  on the first day.

The Cobras won the toss and chose to bowl and it was Beauran Hendricks who made the first breakthrough, having Heino Kuhn caught for five in the fourth over.

Francois le Clus followed shortly after, dismissed for a nine-ball duck, caught by Kemp off Johann Louw.

Farhaan Behardien was the next to go, lasting just two overs before he became Louw's second victim.


Graeme van Buuren  was then dismissed after adding just four. He was caught by Andrew Puttick off Charl langeveldt and the Titans were in all sorts of trouble at 26-4.

Henry Davids just looked like he had started to settle, but soon bit the dust, caught by Hendricks off Justin Kemp and the Titans were struggling at 44-5 on the first morning.

It looked like Mangaliso Mosehle and Roelof van der Merwe would manage to guide their side to lunch, but Mosehle was out in the penultimate over before lunch, as Hendricks'  picked up his second wicket.

At 60-6, the hosts were in all sorts of trouble at lunch, but van der Merwe and von Berg combined to steady the ship after the break.

Von Berg was eventually clean bowled by Hendricks for 47 and van der Merwe followed after adding 36, falling to spinner Dane Piedt.

CJ de Villiers and JP de Villiers both showed some resitence before Louw wrapped up the tail to finish with figures of 18.3-5-38-4 in the first innings and the Titans were all out for 194.

NASHUA TITANS: Heino Khun, Francois Le Clus, CJ de villiers, Graeme van Buuren, Henry Davids (captain), Roelof van der Merwe, Farhaan Behardien, Mangaliso Mosehle (wicketkeeper), JP de Villiers, Rowan Richards, Shaun von Berg NASHUA MOBILE CAPE COBRAS: Alistair Gray, Andrew Puttick, Stiaan van Zyl, Justin Ontong (captain), Yaseen Vallie, Dane Vilas (wicketkeeper), Justin Kemp, Johann louw, Dane Piedt, Charl Langeveldt, Beauran Hendricks



Facebook comments:

© Copyright 2012 Cricket South Africa, All Rights Reserved Designed and developed by flagshipweb