Cobras seize control
Posted by: CSA Staff on Thursday, 31 January 2013

Rate this article: Average Rating:
Article Views:

The Nashua Mobile Cape Cobras seized control on the first day of their crucial Sunfoil Series clash against the Nashua Titans at Sahara Willowmoore Park as they reached close of play on 109-2, just 85 runs behind the hosts’ first innings total.

After dismissing the Nashua Titans for 194, the Nashua Moble Cape Cobras got their reply off to a solid start and will resume day two in charge with Stiaan van Zyl unbeaten on 44 and nightwatchman Dane Piedt yet to get off the mark at the other end.

The Nashua Mobile Cape Cobras won the toss and chose to field and the visitors made early inroads, picking up six wickets in quick succession to leave the home side reeling at 59-6 in the morning session.

Beuran Hendricks made a breakthrough early on, having Heino Kuhn caught for five in the fourth over. The opener was followed back to the pavilion by Francois le Clus, the first of Johann Louw's four first innings victims.

The Nashua Titans’ top order continued to stumble, until Roelof van der Merwe and Shaun von Berg combined for a 78-run partnership to spare the defending champions some major blushes. Von Berg was eventually bowled by Hendricks for 47 and Van der Merwe followed after adding 36, falling to spinner Piedt.

CJ de Villiers and JP de Villiers both showed some resistance before Louw wrapped up the tail to finish with figures of 18.3-5-38-4 in the first innings while Hendricks chipped in with 14-0-47-3.

The Nashua Mobile Cape Cobras’ reply did suffer an early hiccup, with Andrew Puttick being dismissed leg-before for 11 by JP de Villiers. Stiaan van Zyl and Alistair Gray, however, put on 80-runs for the second wicket to put the visitors in control.


NASHUA TITANS: Heino Khun, Francois Le Clus, CJ de Villiers, Graeme van Buuren, Henry Davids (captain), Roelof van der Merwe, Farhaan Behardien, Mangaliso Mosehle (wicketkeeper), JP de Villiers, Rowan Richards, Shaun von Berg

NASHUA MOBILE CAPE COBRAS: Alistair Gray, Andrew Puttick, Stiaan van Zyl, Justin Ontong (captain), Yaseen Vallie, Dane Vilas (wicketkeeper), Justin Kemp, Johann Louw, Dane Piedt, Charl Langeveldt, Beuran Hendricks


Facebook comments:

© Copyright 2012 Cricket South Africa, All Rights Reserved Designed and developed by flagshipweb