Van the Man for Dolphins
Posted by: Cricket South Africa on Thursday, 7 February 2013

Rate this article: Average Rating:
Article Views:

Vaughn van Jaarsveld’s 101 was the centre-piece as the Sunfoil Dolphins notched 326 for six on a weather-affected first day of their Sunfoil Series clash against the Nashua Titans at Supersport Park on Thursday.


Van Jaarsveld added 114 with Khaya Zondo (51) and 64 with Cody Chetty (49) as his brutal, 11th first-class century put the visitors firmly in the driving seat at the close of play.


Having won the toss and elected to bat first, the Sunfoil Dolphins reached 83 for two at lunch, after the start had been delayed by wet patches in the run-ups for the bowlers.


When play did start, the Sunfoil Dolphins lost Divan van Wyk (7) in the eighth over, before Imraan Khan (46 off 58 balls) got into his stride to see the side past 50. But the former captain fell just as he looked set to go on, caught by CJ de Villiers off the bowling of Marchant de Lange.


After lunch, Zondo and Van Jaarsveld, in particular, hit the Nashua Titans hard, as the scoring rate accelerated beyond four runs an over. Zondo, who made a fighting 51, was dismissed when he feathered a catch to Heino Kuhn off the bowling of Roelof van der Merwe.


Chetty came in and picked up the tempo, watching on as Van Jaarsveld drilled three sixes and 14 fours to reach his century on the stroke of tea. At 233 for three, the Sunfoil Dolphins were ideally placed going into the final session.


But Van Jaarsveld fell as soon as play resumed, throttled out by Henry Davids’ part-time bowling for a fine contribution of 101 off 110 balls. The Sunfoil Dolphins slowed somewhat after his demise, though Chetty and Jonathan Vandiar (41) saw the visitors close the day on 326 for six after 85 overs.


For the Nashua Titans the wickets were shared on a trying day at the crease, though they will be encouraged that De Lange snared two victims, as he works his way back into form ahead of the T20 Challenge.




Nashua Titans: Jacques Rudolph, Francois le Clus, Henry Davids (c), Farhaan Behardien, Heino Kuhn, Mangaliso Mosehle (wk), Roelof van der Merwe, Shaun von Berg, Marchant de Lange, CJ de Villiers, Rowan Richards.

Sunfoil Dolphins: Divan van Wyk, Imraan Khan, Jonathan Vandiar, Vaughn van Jaarsveld, Khaya Zondo, Cody Chetty, Daryn Smit (wk/c), Kyle Abbott, Keshav Maharaj, Craig Alexander, Mthokozisi Shezi.



Facebook comments:

© Copyright 2012 Cricket South Africa, All Rights Reserved Designed and developed by flagshipweb