Warriors off to slamming start with eight-wicket drubbing of Knights
Posted by: CSA Staff on Sunday, 17 February 2013

Rate this article: Average Rating:
Article Views:

The Chevrolet Warriors kicked off their RAM SLAM T20 Challenge campaign in the best possible manner, as they hammered the Chevrolet Knights by eight wickets in a rain-reduced affair at the De Beers Diamond Oval on Sunday.

Having inserted the Knights, the men from PE restricted their hosts to

136 for seven, before mowing down their rain-reduced target of 127 from 18 overs with eleven balls to spare.

Christian Jonker plundered four sixes and six boundaries in his 66 not out to walk away with the Batsman of the match award, while Rusty Theron's exemplary mix of slower balls and yorkers saw him snare the Bowler's award with figures of two for 23 in his four overs.

Rilee Rossouw (35 off 26 balls) and Gihahn Cloete (37 off 33 balls) were the only top-order batsmen to make any real impression for the hosts, but once their stand of 65 for the second wicket was broken, the Knights crumbled.

Obus Pienaar valiantly clubbed a few boundaries in his 24, but 136 for seven was never going to be enough. Ayabulela Gqamane also impressed with the ball for the visitors, his spell harvesting one for 23.

In reply, the Warriors lost Ashwell Prince to the second ball of their chase, but Jonker and Colin Ingram (46 off 43 balls) then clattered

109 runs in 13 overs to seal the contest. Ingram stroked seven fours in his knock, and fell trying to hurry things along under the Kimberley lights.

Skipper Davy Jacobs (9 not out) was there at the end with Jonker, who fittingly ended proceeedings by drilling Ryan McLaren's first ball of the 17th over high over cover for six. The Warriors' impressive start earned them four log points, and they have sounded out a warning to their rivals.


Chevrolet Knights: Loots Bosman, Rilee Rossouw, Gihahn Cloete (wk), Ryan Bailey, Obus Pienaar, Ryan McLaren, Werner Coetsee, Dillon du Preez, Johan van der Wath (c), Jandre Coetzee, Malusi Siboto.

Chevrolet Warriors: Ashwell Prince, Davy Jacobs (c), Colin Ingram, Christian Jonker, Adrain McLaren (wk), Wayne Parnell, Craig Thyssen, Simon Harmer, Rusty Theron, Andrew Birch, Ayabulela Gqamane.


Facebook comments:

© Copyright 2012 Cricket South Africa, All Rights Reserved Designed and developed by flagshipweb