Faf retains T20 captaincy; Abbott a new cap
Posted by: CSA on Wednesday, 20 February 2013

Rate this article: Average Rating:
Article Views:

CRICKET SOUTH AFRICA (CSA) on Wednesday re-appointed Faf du Plessis as captain of the Proteas Blue Label Telecoms squad for the KFC T20 International Series against Pakistan next month. AB de Villiers has requested to stand down from this role.


This means that the Proteas will have a different captain for all three formats of the game with De Villiers continuing as captain of the Proteas Castle Lager squad for the five-match Momentum ODI Series against the same opponents.


“Handing Faf the T20 captaincy is an exciting option for us to explore our leadership resources,” commented national coach Gary Kirsten said. “He showed a lot of potential during the series against New Zealand in both the T20 and ODI formats, and this will be another great opportunity for him to work on his role as a leader.


“Having three captains also allows us to spread the resources amongst our three formats, with Graeme (Smith) and AB also providing the ideal support in the Test and ODI formats.  This is an important year for our limited overs squads and this new direction is an exciting step forward.


“South African cricket has been fortunate to have been sustained by the excellent leadership qualities of Graeme and other senior role players over the years, and we feel that this is the opportune time for us to begin developing the next tier of leaders to take the Proteas brand forward in the future.”


Morne Morkel should be sufficiently recovered from his hamstring injury to play in the ODI Series but will be replaced by new cap Kyle Abbott for the T20 series.


The four players, who made their T20 debuts against New Zealand – Henry Davids, Aaron Phangiso, Chris Morris and Quinton de Kock – will be given further opportunities against Pakistan although De Kock loses out in favour of David Miller in the ODI squad. De Villiers will resume wicketkeeping duties in this format.


“This is our last chance to prepare competitively for the ICC Champions Trophy in England in mid-year so this series is very important for us,” commented CSA Selection Convener Andrew Hudson.


“The next edition of the ICC World Twenty20 is still more than a year away so this squad is still a work in progress.


“We are once again resting Jacques Kallis from the limited overs squads as part of the management of his work load while Hashim Amla has asked to take a break from T20 International cricket to concentrate on the other two formats and we are happy about this, bearing in mind the important role he fills in both the Test and ODI squads.


“Dale Steyn is also being rested from the T20 squad.”


Proteas Castle Lager ODI squad: AB de Villiers (Nashua Titans, capt), Hashim Amla (Sunfoil Dolphins), Farhaan Behardien (Nashua Titans), Faf du Plessis (Nashua Titans), Colin Ingram (Chevrolet Warriors), Rory Kleinveldt (Nashua Mobile Cape Cobras), Ryan McLaren (Chevrolet Knights), David Miller (Sunfoil Dolphins), Morne Morkel (Nashua Titans), Robin Peterson (Nashua Mobile Cape Cobras), Aaron Phangiso (bizhub Highveld Lions), Graeme Smith (Nashua Mobile Cape Cobras), Dale Steyn (Nashua Mobile Cape Cobras), Lonwabo Tsotsobe (Sunfoil Dolphins).


Proteas Blue Label Telecoms T20 squad: Faf du Plessis (Nashua Titans, capt), Kyle Abbott (Sunfoil Dolphins), Farhaan Behardien (Nashua Titans), Henry Davids (Nashua Titans), Quinton de Kock (bizhub Highveld Lions), AB de Villiers (Nashua Titans), Rory Kleinveldt (Nashua Mobile Cape Cobras), Ryan McLaren (Chevrolet Knights), David Miller (Sunfoil Dolphins), Chris Morris (bizhub Highveld Lions), Justin Ontong (Nashua Mobile Cape Cobras), Robbie Peterson (Nashua Mobile Cape Cobras), Aaron Phangiso (bizhub Highveld Lions), Lonwabo Tsotsobe (Sunfoil Dolphins).





Facebook comments:

© Copyright 2012 Cricket South Africa, All Rights Reserved Designed and developed by flagshipweb