Rondebosch win Schools T20
Posted by: Cricket South Africa on Sunday, 24 February 2013

Rate this article: Average Rating:
Article Views:

RONDEBOSCH BOYS’ HIGH beat Waterkloof by 10 runs to keep the Coca-Cola Schools T20 Challenge trophy in the Western Cape for the second year in a row at Sahara Park Newlands on Sunday.


Last year the trophy was won by Paarl Boys’ High. Waterkloof were bidding to become the first side to win the trophy for a second time.


On a pitch of pace and bounce that troubled the batsmen up front on both sides Rondebosch were able to defend a modest total of 112, bowling out Waterkloof in the last over of the match.


There were two players who contributed significantly to the Rondebosch victory although it was a good team performance. Zubayr Hamza made 50 off 44 balls (6 fours and a six) for the winners to be named Man of the Match while Dayaan Galiem produced a sensational bowling performance with the new ball.


At one stage he had figures of 3/2 in 2.1 overs and had accounted for Waterkloof’s two best players, Janneman Malan and Michael Strauss. Rondebosch bowled him out up front and he went on to finish with figures of 4-1-15-3.


The Man of the Tournament went to Rondebosch’s Mathew Christensen who, although he had his first failure from five innings, was the only player from any of the competing schools to have an aggregate in excess of 200 runs.




Facebook comments:

© Copyright 2012 Cricket South Africa, All Rights Reserved Designed and developed by flagshipweb