Powerful Pretorius propels Lions
Posted by: CSA Staff on Sunday, 24 February 2013

Rate this article: Average Rating:
Article Views:

A crucial 61-run sixth wicket stand between Dwaine Pretorius and Temba Bavuma rescued the bizhub Higveld Lions from a mid-innings slump to post 162 for seven in their RAM SLAM T20 Challenge clash against the Chevrolet Warriors in Potchefstroom on Sunday.

Pretorius struck three sixes in a lightening 38 off 23 balls, while Bavuma was unbeaten on 34 from 24, adding to the exploits of the in-form Quinton de Kock (47 off 32) at the top of the order.

Wayne Parnell was the pick of the bowlers for the visitors with two for 23, while there were also three run outs for the hosts, who made a blistering start to the game thanks to De Kock and Gulam Bodi (27) after losing the toss and being asked to bat first at Senwes Park.

The pair put on 53 for the first wicket and were particularly harsh on Andrew Birch, blasting him for 34 in just three overs, including 23 in the sixth over.

Their partnership was eventually ended in the subsequent over bowled by Wayne Parnell, who had Bodi caught by Jon-Jon Smuts at deep cover.

Eleven deliveries later, the left-arm Proteas quickie accounted for Neil McKenzie (six), before two run-outs in the 12th over left the hosts in a real mess.

De Kock, who seven days ago struck the highest score ever by a South African of 126 in T20 cricket at the same venue, and Sohail Tanvir (nought) were the men to fall in successive deliveries of the Simon Harmer over as the scoreboard suddenly read to 90 for four.

The 100 was slowly raised in the 14th over, before Ayabulela Gqamane cleaned up captain Jean Symes for seven, but Pretorius and Bavuma combined nicely at the death to help the log leaders set 163 for victory.


bizhub Higveld Lions: Quinton de Kock (wkt), Gulam Bodi, Neil McKenzie, Temba Bavuma, Jean Symes (capt), Dwaine Pretorius, Chris Morris, Sohail Tanvir, Hardus Viljoen, Aaron Phangiso, Imran Tahir.

Chevrolet Warriors: Christiaan Jonker, Jon-Jon Smuts, Ashwell Prince, Colin Ingram (capt), Adrian McLaren (wkt), Wayne Parnell, Craig Thyssen, Simon Harmer, Rusty Theron, Andrew Birch, Ayabulela Gqamane.


Facebook comments:

© Copyright 2012 Cricket South Africa, All Rights Reserved Designed and developed by flagshipweb