Proteas: Four new players awarded CSA national contracts
Posted by: Cricket South Africa on Tuesday, 12 March 2013

Rate this article: Average Rating:
Article Views:

CSA CRICKET SOUTH AFRICA (CSA) on Tuesday announced a list of 21 players who have been awarded national contracts for the 2013-14 playing year. The new contracts run from 1 May, 2013 to 30 April, 2014.


The group was approved by the CSA Board of Directors at their meeting at the weekend.


Four players – Dean Elgar of the Chevrolet Knights, Rory Kleinveldt of the Nashua Mobile Cape Cobras, Marchant de Lange of the Nashua Titans and Aaron Phangiso of the bizhub Highveld Lions – have been awarded contracts for the first time while Ryan McLaren of the Chevrolet Knights has been re-awarded a contract after missing out for the past 12 months.


Five players – Mark Boucher (retired), Ashwell Prince and Rusty Theron of the Chevrolet Warriors, and Albie Morkel and Jacques Rudolph of the Nashua Titans – have dropped off the contracted list while Johan Botha was released from his contract at his own request after last year’s ICC World Twenty20.


“The newcomers to the list are all merited,” commented CSA selection convener Andrew Hudson. “Dean Elgar has established himself in the Castle Lager Test squad while Rory Kleinveldt has done well across all three formats. Marchant de Lange was the first reserve for the Test squad until his unfortunate long-term injury and it is great to have him back operating at full pace.


“Aaron Phangiso has done really well at franchise level and has grabbed the opportunities he has had for the Proteas in the two limited overs formats.


“Ryan Mclaren has come back very strongly this season and, like Kleinveldt, has featured across the formats.


“This is a very strong group of core players which combines “youth and experience” across the three formats. There is no doubt that this group of talented cricketers will continue to successfully represent us on the international stage.


“We also have three exceptionally able leaders in Graeme Smith (Test cricket), AB de Villiers (ODI) and Faf du Plessis (T20).”


CSA contracted squad: Graeme Smith (Nashua Mobile Cape Cobras), AB de Villiers (Nashua Titans), Hashim Amla (Sunfoil Dolphins), Marchant de Lange (Nashua Titans), JP Duminy (Nashua Mobile Cape Cobras), Faf du Plessis (Nashua Titans), Dean Elgar (Chevrolet Knights), Imran Tahir (bizhub Highveld Lions), Colin Ingram (Chevrolet Warriors), Jacques Kallis (Nashua Mobile Cape Cobras), Rory Kleinveldt (Nashua Mobile Cape Cobras), Ryan McLaren (Chevrolet Knights), Morne Morkel (Nashua Titans), Wayne Parnell (Chevrolet Warriors), Alviro Petersen (bizhub Highveld Lions), Robin Peterson (Nashua Mobile Cape Cobras), Aaron Phangiso (bizhub Highveld Lions), Vernon Philander (Nashua Mobile Cape Cobras), Dale Steyn (Nashua Mobile Cape Cobras), Thami Tsolekile (bizhub Highveld Lions), Lonwabo Tsotsobe (Sunfoil Dolphins).



Facebook comments:

© Copyright 2012 Cricket South Africa, All Rights Reserved Designed and developed by flagshipweb