AB de Villiers joins Amla on top of the world as Steyn storms back into the top 10
Posted by: International Cricket Council on Monday, 25 March 2013

Rate this article: Average Rating:
Article Views:

The ICC report that South Africa captain AB de Villiers has joined team-mate Hashim Amla at the top of the Reliance ICC ODI Player Rankings for batsmen following his man of the series performance in the five-match series against Pakistan.


The latest rankings were released on Monday after South Africa’s 3-2 series win over Pakistan. 


De Villiers was the highest run-getter on either side with 367 runs from five matches at an average of 91.75. While he has regained the top spot he last enjoyed in May 2010, his current rating of 882 is his best-ever to date.


India’s Virat Kohli is ranked third on the batting table, while Sri Lanka’s Tillakaratne Dilshan has moved up three places to seventh. 


Apart from de Villiers, there is also good news for two other captains, Misbah-ul-Haq of Pakistan and Zimbabwe’s Brendan Taylor who have made big strides in the latest rankings.


Misbah has been rewarded for being the highest run-getter for his side in the series against South Africa with a jump of 10 places that has put him in his career-best of 18th, while Taylor has also moved up a place to be back in the top 20. 


Batsmen still outside the top 20 but making steady progress in the right direction are Tamim Iqbal in 23rd (up by three), Angelo Mathews in 34th (up by one), Darren Bravo in 39th (up by one), Shahid Afridi in 42nd (up by six), Nasir Hossain in 48th (up by 16), Alex Obanda in 53rd (up by four), Collins Obuya in 56th (up by three), Faf du Plessis in 58th (up by eight) and Tanmay Mishra in 62nd (up by seven).


Meanwhile, South Africa paceman Dale Steyn has returned to top 10 of the bowlers’ list after a good series against Pakistan. Steyn jumped nine places to a joint eighth with teammate Morne Morkel.


The others to move up the order include Angelo Mathews in 21st (up by four), Thisara Perera in 35th (up by two), Junaid Khan in 38th (up by 18) and Ryan McLaren in 45th (up by 46).


Pakistan’s Saeed Ajmal continues to lead the bowlers’ table with West Indies spinner Sunil Narine in second place and England paceman Steven Finn in third place.


To find out exactly how the forthcoming series will affect the Championship Table, please click here. The ODI and T20I Championship tables, unlike the Test Championship Table, are updated after every match.


India finishes No.1 and England ends No.2 at cut-off date


Meanwhile, South Africa’s 3-2 series win means England has finished second to world champion India on the Reliance ICC ODI Championship Table at the 1 April cut-off date.


South Africa, which started the series on 112 ratings points, needed to beat Pakistan 4-1 to move into second place. But the defeat in Durban ended its chances of collecting another cheque of US$75,000 alongside a cheque of US$450,000 that it has already won for finishing as the No.1 ranked Test side.


This means India will receive the shield and will collect a cheque of US$175,000, while England will receive US$75,000 for finishing second.


For Pakistan, the series loss means that it stays at number-six on the ODI Championship table, but has lost one ratings point to finish at 106.


The close nature of the battle on the Championship Table can be gauged from the fact that the top six sides are separated by just 13 ratings points.


Build-up to the ICC Champions Trophy


The South Africa-Pakistan ODI series was a precursor to the clash between the two sides in the ICC Champions Trophy 2013, which will be staged from 6 to 23 June in England and Wales.


South Africa won the inaugural edition in 1998, and is drawn in Group B of the tournament, alongside 2004 champion West Indies, 2002 co-winner India, and Pakistan.


South Africa and Pakistan will meet on 10 June in a day-night match at Edgbaston in Birmingham during the group stage of the ICC Champions Trophy 2013. 


Group A of the ICC Champions Trophy 2013 includes defending champion Australia, 2000 champion New Zealand and 2002 co-winner Sri Lanka, along with host England, which reached the final when it last staged the event in 2004.


The tournament opener at the ICC Champions Trophy will feature two former winners, when South Africa takes on India at Cardiff on 6 June. The following day, West Indies will face Pakistan at The Oval.


The semi-finals of the ICC Champions Trophy 2013 will be staged at The Oval (19 June) and in Cardiff (20 June), while Edgbaston will be the venue of the final, to be played on 23 June.


Facebook comments:

© Copyright 2012 Cricket South Africa, All Rights Reserved Designed and developed by flagshipweb