Western Province, Gauteng to meet in Women's Provincial final
Posted by: Cricket South Africa on Tuesday, 9 April 2013

Rate this article: Average Rating:
Article Views:

Both teams booked their place in the final of the Cricket South Africa (CSA) Women's Provincial League after Western Province (WP) thrashed the defenceless former champions Northerns, by eight wickets and Gauteng conquered KwaZulu-Natal (KZN) with an emphatic 54-run victory.

In Cape Town, hosts WP won the toss and chose to field. A superior bowling attack lead by Moseline Daniels saw the shocked visitors floundering on 4/18 in the ninth over. Northerns were bowled out for a sub-par 76 with Daniels claiming four wickets for 20, while Shabnim Ismail took 2/13 and Robyn Appels 2/20.

In reply, Magdaleen Mphahele and Suné Luus were the only wicket takers for Northerns as Alexis le Breton (30*) shared an unbeaten 42-run, third wicket partnership with Shandré  Fritz (15*) to make quick work of the chase.

In Johannesburg, Gauteng won the toss and chose to bat first against the ladies from Durban. It took 17 overs, but Lungile Kwela got the breakthrough, removing Robyn Searle for seven. Kirstie Thompson shared a 50 partnership with Savanna Cordes before she was trapped lbw by Dinesha Devnarain for 71 in the 33rd over. Thompson went on to share another 50 partnership with captain, Cri-Zelda Brits (31*) before Devnarain struck once more to dismiss her for 71 as well. Gauteng posted a daunting 216/7, including 23 fours and a six.

It was never going to be an easy chase for KZN and Gauteng were ruthless in their defence. Chloe Tryon top scored with 45 from 62 balls while wickets tumbled around her. Thompson produced a remarkable all-round performance when she lead the wicket taking with three for 26, while Jenna Bedford-Owen and Yumna Plowker took two wickets a piece to seal their well deserved victory.

Gauteng will host Western Province at the Bidvest Wanderers on Saturday, 13 April 2013. Play will begin at 09:45.


Facebook comments:

© Copyright 2012 Cricket South Africa, All Rights Reserved Designed and developed by flagshipweb