CSA honours the stars of TOMORROW
Posted by: Cricket South Africa on Monday, 9 September 2013

Rate this article: Average Rating:
Article Views:

Cricket South Africa (CSA) on Monday, hosted its fifth annual CSA Breakfast Awards in association with KFC, where the stars of the amateur cricket world were honoured in a lavish ceremony at the Bidvest Wanderers Stadium in Johannesburg.

The Awards Breakfast honours the accomplishments of the flourishing talent in the country, as CSA continues to drive its vision of making cricket a truly national sport of winners.

CSA CEO, Haroon Lorgat is delighted with the day’s activities thus far in his first CSA Day at the helm.

“My first CSA Day has been fantastic so far,” he said. “It was especially wonderful to see the young winners receiving their awards from the Proteas, that was indeed special. A special congratulations to all the winners, there are some fantastic statistics that I saw today and I’m sure we will  see some of those names coming into the Proteas team soon.”

Murray Coetzee took home the Coca-Cola under-19 (U19) Cricketer of the year award for his stellar work in the CSA U19 Provincial League and internationally against the England U19s in January. Coetzee gained a lot of experience playing in the 2012 ICC U19 World Cup in Australia and put it all to good use.

The CSA national schools weeks are the highlight of many burgeoning players across the country. The pinnacle of which being the Coca-Cola Khaya Majola U19 Week where the best of the best are pitted against their peers for a place in the SA Schools and SA Colts teams, as well as the CSA Colts Week where a place in the SA U19 squad is at stake.

Daryn Dupavillon received the Coca-Cola Khaya Majola U19 Player of the year honours for an outstanding performance with the ball. He took 17 wickets in five matches with best bowling figures of 7/18 against the North West. His dream now, is to represent his country in the U19 World Cup next year.

Coca-Cola also added their prestigious name to the Schools T20 Challenge this past season and the tournament did not disappoint. More than 630 schools participated with Rondebosch High School the ultimate winners after beating Waterkloof High School in the final. Matthew Christensen’s 228 runs during the finals week earned him the Coca-Cola Schools T20 Player of the year award.

The CSA Girls U19 Player of the tournament is Laura Wolfaardt for her 234 runs in just five matches. The Girl’s U19 Week plays a pivotal role in discovering the next generation of players for the national side. Last year, Suné Luus was the recipient of this award and in less than a year, was called up to represent South Africa in the ICC Women’s Cricket World Cup in India.

The KFC Mini-Cricket programme celebrated 30 years of existence this past season and with that, further growth of its programme. CSA and KFC would like to once again thank all its tireless volunteers, administrators and coaches for making the programme the success that it is today. One such volunteer is physics scientist, Bertus Theron, who in the last 13 years of his involvement in the mini-cricket programme, has coached hundreds of children, including Momentum Proteas women’s player Suné Luus.

Deaf cricket received a major boost when the national team played its first ever international series on home soil against England in recent weeks. This year’s Deaf Cricketer of the Year trophy was awarded to Colin Venter for his exceptional work with the bat and handy contributions with the ball. It is Venter’s second consecutive year winning this award.

The various CSA Provincial Leagues continue to be a big platform for up and coming players to showcase their talent. This year’s biggest showcase came from Marcello Piedt, whose record breaking performances on first class debut, saw him receive the CSA Provincial Three-Day Cricketer of the year award. He was joined by Rassie van der Dussen and Juanré van Wyk, who won the CSA Provincial One-Day Cricketer of the Year and CSA Provincial T20 Cricketer of the year awards respectively.

Van der Dussen took home a total of two awards, including the Momentum Club Championship Player of the tournament award.

The Awards Breakfast is followed by the 2013 CSA Golf invitational where cricket’s key stakeholders will enjoy a round of golf with the Proteas. Tonight, the cricket family will gather at the Sandton Convention Centre, to pay tribute to the stars of professional cricket at the 2013 SA Cricket Awards Gala Dinner. 

Fans will be able to follow all of the live action across CSA’s online social platforms www.facebook.com/cricketsouthafrica; www.twitter.com/officialcsa ), the official hash tag for the event is #CSAawards13. CSA’s Facebook and twitter pages, which boast a combined number of over 1 035 000 members, will be a hive of activity with first hand news, pictures and comments from those attending all three events, as and when they happen.


2013 CSA Breakfast Awards winners


KFC Mini-Cricket Coach of the Year – Bertus Theron

CSA U15 Player of the Tournament – Dayyaan Galiem

CSA U17 Player of the Tournament – Ryeland Hardnick

CSA Girls U19 Player of the Tournament – Laura Wolfaardt

Coca-Cola Schools T20 Player of the Year – Matthew Christensen

Coaca-Cola Khaya Majola U19 Week Player of the Tournament – Daryn Dupavillon

Coca-Cola U19 Cricketer of the Year – Murray Coetzee

CSA Blind Cricketer of the Year – Johan Schroeder

CSA Deaf Cricketer of the Year – Colin Venter

CSA Intellectually Impaired Cricketer of the Year – Nawaaz Khan

CSA Rural Cricketer of the Year – Erik Wyma

Momentum Club Championships Player of the Tournament – Rassie van der Dussen

CSA Student Cricketer of the Year – Uwe Birkenstock

CSA Provincial T20 Cricketer of the Year – Juanré van Wyk

CSA Provincial One-Day Cricketer of the Year – Rassie van der Dussen

CSA Provincial Three-Day Cricketer of the Year – Marcello Piedt




Facebook comments:

© Copyright 2012 Cricket South Africa, All Rights Reserved Designed and developed by flagshipweb