Amla becomes the third two-time Player of the Year
Posted by: Cricket South Africa on Tuesday, 10 September 2013

Rate this article: Average Rating:
Article Views:

HASHIM AMLA became the third Protea to be named South Africa’s Cricketer of the Year on two occasions when he received the award for 2013 at a gala Cricket South Africa (CSA) banquet in Sandton on Monday night.

Amla had previously won the award in 2010 and joined two other dual winners in Makhaya Ntini (2005 and 2006) and Jacques Kallis (2004 and 2011). The other previous winners of the award are Shaun Pollock (2007), Dale Steyn (2008), Graeme Smith (2009) and Vernon Philander (2012).

It was a special evening for Amla who won four awards in all – the only award for which he was nominated but did not win was the Momentum ODI Player of the Year which went to AB de Villiers. Amla was also named Sunfoil Test Cricketer of the Year and SA Fans’ Cricketer of the Year by popular vote while his historic treble century in The Oval Test against England won him the KFC ‘So Good’ award.

De Villiers picked up a second award as the SA Players’ Player of the Year while Dale Steyn was named KFC T20 International Player of the Year and Kallis won the RAM SLAM delivery of the year award by dismissing his old rival, Ricky Ponting of Australia, on day one of the second Test match at the Adelaide Oval.

Marizanne Kapp was named South African Women’s Cricketer of the Year while Kyle Abbott rounded out the international awards by being named SA Newcomer of the Year.

“This has been another amazing year for our top players,” commented CSA CEO Haroon Lorgat. “It is not easy to keep finding special words to speak about Hashim. He has set SA record Test scores since unity against both England and Australia and he is the first player to score a Test treble century for our country. As if that is not remarkable enough he is also the No. 1 rated player on the ICC rankings for Test and ODI players.

“The greatest quality he brings to the game is his attitude and humility, which aptly displays the true spirit of cricket. This transcends all his international statistics and we are indeed very lucky to have such a wonderful role model for our children to emulate.

“Our Proteas have displayed true world-class performances in the past year and I salute not only the Award winners but all of them for a year of great performances especially at Test level. I certainly did not envy the job of our distinguished panel of judges!

“I warmly congratulate all our winners including those without whose contribution the game cannot be played, such as our umpires, grounds staff and scorers.”

In the domestic professional category the top awards went to Geoffrey Toyana (Coach of the year), Kyle Abbott (Domestic Players’ Player of the Year), Johann Louw (Sunfoil Series cricketer of the season), Richard Levi (Momentum One-Day Cup cricketer of the season) and Quinton de Kock (RAM SLAM cricketer of the season).

The Khaya Majola Lifetime Achievement Award went to Hoosain Ayob for his services to the game over many decades as player and coach.





SA Cricketer of the Year: Hashim Amla

Sunfoil Test Cricketer of the Year: Hashim Amla

Momentum ODI Cricketer of the Year: AB de Villiers

KFC: T20 International Cricketer of the Year: Dale Steyn

SA Players’ Player of the Year: AB de Villiers

SA Fans’ Player of the Year: Hashim Amla

KFC ‘So Good’ Award: Hashim Amla (treble Test century)

RAM SLAM Delivery of the Year: Jacques Kallis (dismissed Ricky Ponting on day 1 of second Test match against Australia at Adelaide)

SA Newcomer of the Year: Kyle Abbott

Momentum women’s Cricketer of the Year: Marizanne Kapp


Sunfoil Series Cricketer of the Season: Johann Louw (Nashua Mobile Cape Cobras)

Momentum One-Day Cup Cricketer of the Season: Richard Levi (Nashua Mobile Cape Cobras)

RAM SLAM Cricketer of the Season: Quinton de Kock (bizhub Highveld Lions)

Coach of the Year: Geoffrey Toyana (bizhub Highveld Lions)

Domestic Players’ Player of the Year: Kyle Abbott (Sunfoil Dolphins)

CSA Fair Play Award: bizhub Highveld Lions

SACA Most Valuable Player Award: Roelof van der Merwe (Nashua Titans)

Domestic Newcomer of the Year: Ayabulela Gqamane (Chevrolet Warriors)


CSA Groundsman of the Year: Chris Scott (Bidvest Wanderers Stadium)

CSA Scorers’ Association of the Year: Gauteng Cricket Board

CSA Umpires’ Umpire of the Year: Shaun George

CSA Umpire of the Year: Johan Cloete


Facebook comments:

© Copyright 2012 Cricket South Africa, All Rights Reserved Designed and developed by flagshipweb