SA u19s bounce back on track
Posted by: Cricket South Africa on Thursday, 19 September 2013

Rate this article: Average Rating:
Article Views:

The Coca-Cola South Africa under-19s are content with the preparation they have done for their quadrangular series against India, Zimbabwe and Australia in Visakhapatnam, India. In an effort to ensure that they are primed for what will be a tough two-week challenge, the team played two warm-up matches against the Karnataka state U19s.

The introduction to the sub-continent conditions was tough for the visitors. They suffered a 100-run loss in their first match but showed pure class and bounced back in exceptional fashion in the second match to beat the same side by six wickets at the Alur 1 ground in Bangalore on Thursday.

Karnatika were bowled out for 193 with Andile Phehlukwayo taking 4/42 in his 10-over spell, while Hayes van der Berg took 3/17 in four. Other notable bowling performances were made by Ngazibini Sigwili and Lungile Ngidi who took 2/22 in eight overs and 1/10 in six overs respectively.

South Africa’s batting reply was well defined and clear-cut, with good partnerships formed to keep the scoreboard ticking. Skipper, Yaseen Valli, top-scored with an unbeaten 53 runs while Greg Oldfield gave him good support, adding 41 not out to help win the match.

Valli was very happy with the fight shown by his side after a tough loss earlier in the week.

“Today we fought hard and showed one another, our coaches and the opposition what we’re made of,” he said. “I’m particularly proud of the manner in which we executed our game plans and showed no mercy in our bowling. We definitely looked a completely different and more aggressive side to the one that played the first match and now that opening day jitters are out of the way, we are looking forward to facing Australia next week.”

South Africa will take on their old foes from Down Under on Monday, 23 September, in their first match of the tournament, while their hosts play Zimbabwe on the same day.

South Africa U19 team

Yaseen Valli (Gauteng, capt), Corbin Bosch (Northerns), Lloyd Brown (EP), Bradley Dial (Gauteng), Justin Dill (Boland), Clyde Fortuin (WP), Dayyaan Galiem (WP), Aiden Markram (Northerns), Lungisani Ngidi (KZN Inland), Sinebhongo Ntshona (Free State), Greg Oldfield (KZN Inland), Kagiso Rabada (Gauteng), Ngazibini Sigwili (Border), Jason Smith (WP), Hayes van der Berg (WP), Andile Phehlukwayo (KZN Coastal).

Management: Morgan Pillay (manager), Ray Jennings (head coach), Mandla Mashimbyi (assistant coach), Greg Smith (assistant coach), Megan Dutton (physiotherapist), Sipokazi Sokanyile (Media Officer).


Facebook comments:

© Copyright 2012 Cricket South Africa, All Rights Reserved Designed and developed by flagshipweb