Nine centuries in last round of Schools T20 matches for 2013
Posted by: Cricket South Africa on Wednesday, 30 October 2013

Rate this article: Average Rating:
Article Views:

It was a high-scoring week as schools played their last matches of the school year in the Coca-Cola T20 Schools Challenge. Nine centuries were scored, with four of them coming in the Western Province to end Round Three of the competition on high.

Wynberg Boys High School’s (BHS) Raythaan Addinall returned the highest score in the competition so far when he was unbeaten for 163, with Tyler Sylvester scoring 80 to help their side to a 287-run hiding over Thandokhulu High School. Nicholas Scott took four wickets for just one run to help bowl them out for 25.

W Joubert (109*) and P Cilliers (106*) scored unbeaten centuries for Hoërskool (HS) DF Malan when they played Belhar High School. DF Malan posted 249/1 in their allotted overs, winning the match by an immense 224 runs after restricting the opposition to 25/8.

In similar fashion, Buren High School suffered a 161-run loss to Milnerton High. Aaron Barnes and Kyle Peters were unbeaten for 105 and 91 respectively to lead their side to 205-0. Branden Ellison and Jonathan Stokell took three wickets each, with Cameron Stephen taking two to restrict Buren to 44/9 at the end of their 20 overs.

In the South Western Districts, Oakhill High beat George Secondary School by 84 runs. Chris Marrow scored 103 not out to lead Oakhill to 163/5 when they chose to bat first. L Botha, James Segers and JJ Strydom took 3/15, 3/16 and 2/12 respectively to have George Secondary bowled out for 79 runs.

A. Kitshini starred in Thembalethu Secondary School’s 48-run victory against Haarlem High School. He scored 59 runs and took six wickets to get his side its well deserved win. Thembalethu made 110/6 in their 20 overs and bowled Haarlem out for 62.

Jandré Joubert scored an unbeaten 86 to lead Outeniqua High School to a 88-run victory against Oakhill, J Mitchell made 81 to get Uniondale a 121-run win against Parkdene High and Athi Khwitshana took five wickets for eight to give Oakhill a seven-wicket victory over Knysna Montessori.

In Mpumalanga, Danie Griesel returned unbeaten with 136 runs, setting HTS Middleburg a daunting total of 225/3 when they played HGH. Benjamin van Niekerk added 54 vital runs to put their side in the winning position. In reply Simion Kruger and Deon van Niekerk were the top run scorers with 27 runs to the both of them, while B van Niekerk took 3/20 to limit HGH to 91/7, giving Middleburg the win by 134 runs.

Carl Jacobz made 100 not out for Ligbron High (171/3) when they faced Embalenhle Senior Secondary. Relentless pressure when Ligbron bowled saw Jayshal Moodley, Keanu Gertzen, FJ Basson and Jason Marshall take 3/17, 2/12, 2/14 and 2/13 respectively. Bongani Masiya (24) and Thabang Thetho (17) were the top scoring batsmen for Embalenhle. Ligbron won by 98 runs.

Ruan van Wyk scored the Free State’s only century when he made 147 for Sentraal in their match against Zastron. He and Theunis la Grange (73*) batted their side to 280/2 and a 182-run win after Zastron could only manage 98 thanks to a fifer from Handre Dreyer (5/12).

In the Northerns region, M du Toit scored 68 runs to help Uitsig triumph over HS Overkruin. They posted 132 all out and in reply, Francois du Plessis, Phillip Roos and JC Minnie took two wickets each to confine Overkruin to 101 for the 31-run win.

Dean Foxtrot took five wickets for four to contain HS Wagpos to 76/9 to give HS Menlo Park an easy eight-wicket win.

The KwaZulu-Natal region saw three five-wicket hauls in the last round. Grosvenor Boys High School suffered a five-wicket loss, in spite of Sashall Mandass’ 5/4 against Pinetown Boys. Juan Jaque Momberg took five wickets for 23 runs to help Port Shepstone High to a 44-run win over Umzinto High, while Cameron Naidoo took 5/7 for Lower Highway to beat Umgeni High by nine wickets.

In Griqualand West, M Rosenberg scored 100 for THS with B Alexander (31) to post 207/5 against Floors Senior Secondary School. B Gertze took four wickets for six to help bundle Floors out for 36. THS won by 171 runs.

Kathu High School beat Postmasburg High by eight wickets thanks to M van Schalkwyk’s 57 not out in reply to Postmasburg’s 96/7. JD van Zyl made 69 and Riaan Badenhorst 29 to lead Duineveld High to a six-wicket win against Upington High who posted 136 when they were put in to bat first.

The next round of matches begins at the end of January.


Facebook comments:

© Copyright 2012 Cricket South Africa, All Rights Reserved Designed and developed by flagshipweb