Time for fans to start voting!
Posted by: Cricket South Africa on Saturday, 23 November 2013

Rate this article: Average Rating:
Article Views:

CRICKET SOUTH AFRICA’S (CSA) national selection panel today named two squads of 25 players each for the North versus South Challenge State of Origin T20 match brought to you by SuperSport.


This match will be one of the highlights of the Festival of Cricket to take place at Sahara Park Newlands on 3rd, 4th and 5th January 2014.


All cricket fans now have the chance to play the role of selectors in voting for the players they would like to see making the final squad of 13 players from which the respective coaches, Geoffrey Toyana and Paul Adams, will select the playing XI’s in consultation with their captains. To do this they must sms South/North and the players name to 45732. Sms’s are charged at R1.50 per sms. Fans can vote as many times as they like. The selectors will appoint the respective captains once the squads of 13 have been determined by the fans.


Two lucky winners will win an all-expenses trip to the Festival of Cricket and will be able to watch the State of Origins match from the unique environment of the dressing room.


“The two squads are remarkably well balanced and we can look forward to a highly competitive game of T20 cricket,” commented CSA selection convener Andrew Hudson.


In terms of the State of Origin qualification rules the North will have the services of the likes of Graeme Smith, AB de Villiers,  Imran Tahir, Aaron Phangiso, Dale Steyn and the Morkel brothers  while the South can call on Hashim Amla, Henry Davids, Jacques Kallis, Kyle Abbott, Thami Tsolekile and Lonwabo Tsotsobe.




NORTH: Temba Bavuma, Quinton de Kock, Marchant de Lange, AB de Villiers, Faf du Plessis, Reeza Hendricks, Imran Tahir, Eddie Leie, Ethy Mbhalati, Neil McKenzie, Ryan McLaren, Albie Morkel, Morne Morkel, Chris Morris, Mangaliso Mosehle, Aaron Phangiso, Graeme Smith, Dale Steyn, Roelof van der Merwe, Johannes van der Wath, Vaughn van Jaarsveld, Morne van Wyk, Dane Vilas, Hardus Viljoen, David Wiese


SOUTH: Kyle Abbott, Hashim Amla, Farhaan Behardien, Henry Davids, JP Duminy, Ayabulela Gqamane, Simon Harmer, Beuran Hendricks, Colin Ingram, Jacques Kallis, Rory Kleinveldt, Charl Langeveldt, Richard Levi, David Miller, Justin Ontong, Alviro Petersen, Wayne Parnell, Robin Peterson, Vernon Philander, Calvin Savage, Daryn Smit, Prenelan Subrayen, Rusty Theron, Thami Tsolekile, Lonwabo Tsotsobe, 


Facebook comments:

© Copyright 2012 Cricket South Africa, All Rights Reserved Designed and developed by flagshipweb