Aggressive Fortuin bats Western Province to convincing victory
Posted by: Cricket South Africa on Thursday, 19 December 2013

Rate this article: Average Rating:
Article Views:

Western Province’s wicketkeeper, Clyde Fortuin scored an outstanding 123 runs to bat his side to victory, proving himself to be one of the top talents in the country when they played KwaZulu-Natal on Day Four of the Coca-Cola Khaya Majola Week in Durban on Thursday. For the second year in a row, Western Province and Gauteng will contest the main match, playing at the Smith Oval at Kearsney College in Hillcrest.


Western Province defeated KwaZulu-Natal by 42 runs in a match which was reduced to 46 overs due to a wet outfield. Fortuin faced 115 deliveries in his innings, striking 13 fours and two sixes. He and Matthew Christensen (42) shared an opening stand of 128 runs to lay the foundation for the victory. It was the first time during the tournament that Fortuin opened the batting for his side.


He is happy to be able to finally score runs in a tournament that has seen more rainy days than not. “When I looked at the wicket today I knew that it was going to be flat and I told myself that I was going to play shots and I’m going to take advantage,” he said. “I’ve really enjoyed Coke Week this year, our side has a better balance than last year and we’ve got a really well-balanced batting order and a really good bowling attack. We’re looking forward to playing Gauteng again tomorrow.”


In Gauteng’s encounter against Eastern Province, Grant Roelofsen (99) missed out on his century by the narrowest possible margin. He was caught by Bradley Bopp off his own bowling. Gauteng’s captain, Yaseen Valli (63*) and Roelofsen shared an 127-run partnership for the second wicket.


Two bowlers managed to grab five-wicket hauls. Boland’s Curtley Louw’s 5/20 against Northerns was not good enough to save his side from a defeat. South Western Districts’ Arno Moolman’s (5/34) standout performance was also not enough for his side to beat North West. Moolman also grabbed a five wicket haul during last year’s tournament in Potchefstroom in his side’s match against KwaZulu-Natal.


Last year’s South African Schools’ fast bowler, Ngazibini Sigwili also impressed with his performances thus far. He picked up four wickets against Easterns at the cost of 17 runs today. He has dismissed ten batsmen at 5.8 runs per wicket at the tournament thus far. Jurie Snyman (67) played a valuable innings for Easterns in the match.


Namibia defeated Free State by 29 runs to keep their unbeaten record at this year’s tournament.



Summarised Scorecards (Limited Overs):


Western Province 290/6 (Clyde Fortuin 123, Mathew Christensen 42; Luke Schlemmer 3/36); KwaZulu-Natal 248 (Luke Schlemmer 53, Andile Phehlukwayo 50*, Jason Oakes 46; Keegan Wheeler 3/19). Western Province won by 42 runs.


Eastern Province 211 (Murray Leith 67, Bradley Bopp 54, Mbulelo Mama 37; Keith Dudgeon 4/37); Gauteng 212/2 (Grant Roelofsen 99, Yaseen Valli 63*). Gauteng won by eight wickets.


Easterns 142 (Jurie Snyman 67; Ngazibini Sigwili 4/17); Border 146/3 (Bathandwa Isaac 52, Aubrey Ferreira 41*). Border won by seven wickets.


Northerns 141 (Driaan Bruwer 45*; Curtley Louw 5/20); Boland 79 (Marcke Cilliers 30; Driaan Bruwer 2/7, Stefan Klopper 2/12). Northerns won by 62 runs.


Namibia 136 (Malan Kruger 44; Sean Whitehead 2/24, Lyle Heilbron 2/27); Free State 107 (Paballo Mogoera 37; Michau du Preez 3/14, JJ Smit 2/17). Namibia won by 29 runs.


Griqualand West 207/8 (Patrick Kruger 42, Ainslee Bok 39, GM Bruwer 38; Asad Patel 2/20); Limpopo 139 (Landré Coetzee 38; Auston Williams 2/11). Griqualand West won by 68 runs.


Mpumalanga 124 (Siyabonga Mahima 46; Andrew Darroch 2/13, Lwandisa Zuma 2/15); KwaZulu-Natal Inland 81 (Simon Geldenhuys 3/19, Wehan Joubert 2/6). Mpumalana won by 43 runs.


North West 180 (Michael Eckard 49*, Jaco Jacobs 39; Arno Moolman 5/34, Richard Maree 3/42); South Western Districts 143 (Roann Bekker 28; Rudolf Heymans 2/16). North West won by 37 runs




Fixtures for the final day:


Western Province vs. Gauteng (Smith’s Oval, Kearsney College)

Eastern Province vs. Border (Matterson Field, Kearsney College)

KwaZulu-Natal vs. Northerns (Osler Field, Kearsney College)

Easterns vs. Mpumalanga (Chatsworth Oval)

Boland vs. Namibia (Northwood)

Free State vs. Griqualand West (Glenwood)

North West vs. KwaZulu-Natal Inland (Hammond Field, University of KwaZulu-Natal)

South Western Districts vs. Limpopo (Tills Crescent)


Facebook comments:

© Copyright 2012 Cricket South Africa, All Rights Reserved Designed and developed by flagshipweb