Pakistan claim women’s T20 final
Posted by: Cricket South Africa on Friday, 24 January 2014

Rate this article: Average Rating:
Article Views:

Pakistan women beat the Momentum Proteas by a convincing seven wickets to claim the T20 section of the Qatar International Women’s Cricket Championship in Doha on Friday.

They restricted South Africa to 68/9 after winning the toss and asking them to bat first. Asmavia Iqbal and Sania Khan took 2/14 and 2/16 respectively to keep South Africa constantly under pressure. Marizanne Kapp showed great defiance, scoring 40 off 48 balls, the best effort of the South African innings, with no one else managing more than Sunette Loubser’s eight.

Nain Abidi was the first casualty of the Pakistani reply. She was stumped off Loubser (1/14) for four in the fifth over. Nida Dar followed in the ninth, run out by SA captain, Mignon du Preez for 11. Javeria Khan added 38 off 46 balls to set up her side’s victory, before she lost her wicket to Moseline Daniels (1/13) in the 16th over.

Bismah Maroof (14*) and Nahida Khan (2*) added the remaining runs for a relatively smooth victory.

Although disappointed with the day’s efforts, Du Preez was happy with her side’s overall performance in the tournament.

“We had a bad day at the office today,” she admitted. “We didn’t put on the runs needed to have a competitive enough game and we disappointed ourselves. Hats off to Pakistan for playing their game ruthlessly and getting the win. Thank you once again to the Pakistan Cricket Board for putting this little tournament together for us to compete in.

“I’m proud of our team’s efforts throughout this tour here in Doha, we have shown ourselves and many others that we are definitely a team to watch out for in the World T20. Now, it’s time for us to go home and to work out the problem areas that we have discovered here and make sure we are at our peak by the time we reach Bangladesh.”

The team returns to South Africa tomorrow and land at 20:50 on flight EK 765U from Dubai to Johannesburg.


Facebook comments:

© Copyright 2012 Cricket South Africa, All Rights Reserved Designed and developed by flagshipweb