Proteas make three changes for 2nd Test
Posted by: Cricket South Africa on Thursday, 20 February 2014

Rate this article: Average Rating:
Article Views:
The Castle Lager Proteas have made three changes to their side for the second Sunfoil Test against Australia at Axxess St Georges in Port Elizabeth on Thursday. 
Graeme Smith won the toss and elected to bat, with Dean Elgar, Wayne Parnell and Quinton de Kock coming into the team.
Two of the changes were forced, with Ryan McLaren and Alviro Petersen unavailable for selection due to injury and illness. 
De Kock becomes the 82nd player to represent South Africa since readmission, and comes in to bolster the middle order after the selectors opted for the seven-batter strategy.
Cricket South Africa (CSA) selection convener, Andrew Hudson said: " Quinton has been in terrific form for the Proteas in the limited-overs format and we felt he would be the ideal player to bolster the vacant number seven position after Alviro fell ill.
" He is also coming off a half-century in the warm-up match at the Wanderers against the Proteas' attack. He has played some International cricket and has been around the group for a while. " 
Elgar will open the batting with Smith.
South Africa XI: Graeme Smith (cpt), Dean Elgar, Hashim Amla, Faf du Plessis, AB de Villiers (wk), JP Duminy, Quinton de Kock, Wayne Parnell, Veron Philander, Dale Steyn, Morne Morkel.


Facebook comments:

© Copyright 2012 Cricket South Africa, All Rights Reserved Designed and developed by flagshipweb