Markram named U19 Cricketer of the Year at CSA Breakfast Awards
Posted by: Cricket South Africa on Wednesday, 4 June 2014

Rate this article: Average Rating:
Article Views:

Aiden Markram was named the CSA Under-19 Cricketer of the Year at the sixth annual Cricket South Africa (CSA) Breakfast Awards in association with KFC. The ceremony, where the stars of amateur cricketed are honoured, was held at the Killarney Country Club in Johannesburg on Wednesday.


The Awards Breakfast commemorates the accomplishments of the flourishing talent in the country as CSA continues to drive its vision of making cricket a truly national sport of winners and accessible to all.


Markram was one of the many stars in the Coca-Cola SA U19 squad that won the ICC U19 World Cup in the United Arab Emirates earlier this year. He was the deserving Player of the Tournament where the Baby Proteas (as they have been dubbed) were unbeaten throughout and was also the captain that led the squad to its historic victory. He beat out fellow nominees Yaseen Valli, who scored second highest runs of 240 and took the 11 wickets, second only to the third nominee, Kagiso Rabada, who took 14/144.


Markram scored a tournament best 370 runs at an average of 123. The opening batsman scored two centuries, 120* and 105 against Zimbabwe and Afghanistan respectively. He also scored the 66 runs that led to the side’s ultimate triumph against Pakistan in the Final.


The youngster continued his good form when he returned home, playing an instrumental role in Assupol TUKS’ third consecutive Momentum National Club Championships title victory.  He received the Player of the Tournament award as well this year.


“I’m actually quite shocked at these awards,” Markram said. “I never dreamed that this past year would work out this way. I’m so happy to have been able to give our country something to be proud of. There is no way I would have been able to accomplish anything without my teammates, coaches and parents. I want to thank them for everything they have done for me. I only hope that I can continue to do good things for the country.”


Nokuzola Javu was named the KFC Mini-Cricket Coach of the Year. Her work as educator and coach of visually impaired and physically disabled children made her the obvious choice.  She has been active in the program for 15 years and is in charge of seven areas between Uitenhage and Port Elizabeth central, bringing the revitalization of the game in areas that have been previously overlooked.


CSA Chief Executive, Mr Haroon Lorgat conveyed his congratulations and gratitude to the often forgotten heroes of the game.

He said; “CSA Day is designed to celebrate more than our national heroes. It embraces all aspects of our domestic cricket, starting with those selfless individuals who introduce our youngsters to softball cricket through the KFC Mini-Cricket Programme, through youth and club cricket all the way to the semi-professional and Franchise ranks. We must also acknowledge the ground staff at all our Affiliates, the match officials, the administrators and the scorers, all of whom play a major role to ensure the smooth running of our operations.”

In other awards, rising star Andile Phehlukwayo received the CSA U17 Player of the Tournament honours for his stellar performances this past season, while Suné Luus accepted the CSA Girls U19 Player of the Tournament for the second time, her first award came in 2012.


“It’s been such an exciting season for me,” Luus commented. “There has been a lot of growing and hard work and none of that would have happened without the great support system that I have which includes my parents, coaches and teammates, both national and domestic.”


Luus has cemented her place in the Momentum Proteas Women’s squad that also made history when they qualified for the semi-finals of the ICC Women’s World T20 in Bangladesh.


Other big winners included Clyde Fortuin, who received the prestigious Coca-Cola Khaya Majola Week Player of the Tournament award, Heinrich Klaasen who won the CSA Student Cricketer of the Year award and Monty Jacobs who accepted the newly introduced C-Track Franchise Semi-Professional Coach of the Year award.


It was also a big year for the CSA Provincial Cricket set up. Ross McMillan was named the CSA Provincial T20 Cricketer of the Year, while Devon Conway and Keegan Petersen accepted the CSA Provincial One-Day and Three-Day Cricketer of the Year awards respectively.

The Breakfast Awards are followed by the 2014 CSA Golf invitational where the Proteas play a round of golf with key stakeholders of cricket. Tonight, the cricket family will gather at the Sandton Convention Centre, to pay tribute to the stars of professional cricket at the 2014 SA Cricket Awards Gala Dinner. 

Fans will be able to follow all of the live action across CSA’s online social platforms. CSA’s Facebook (, Twitter ( and Instagram (@cricket_south_africa) pages, which boast a combined number of  1 806 144 members will be a hive of activity with first hand news, pictures and comments from those attending all three events, as and when they happen. The official hash tag of the awards ceremonies is #CSAawards14.


2014 SA Cricket Awards Breakfast Winners

CSA Under-15 Player of the Tournament                                              Dean Foxcroft

CSA Under-17 Player of the Tournament                                              Andile Phehlukwayo

CSA Girls Under-19 Player of the Tournament                                    Suné Luus

Coca-Cola Khaya Majola Under-19 Player of the Tournament                      Clyde Fortuin

CSA Under-19 Cricketer of the Year                                                         Aiden Markram

CSA Student Cricketer of the Year                                                            Heinrich Klaasen

Momentuntum National Club Championships Player of the Tournament              Aiden Markram

C-Track Franchise Semi-Professional Coach of the Year -                                Monty Jacobs

CSA Rural Cricketer of the Year                                                                  Ferisco Adams

CSA Blind Cricketer of the Year                                                                  Desigan Pillay

CSA Deaf Cricketer of the Year                                                                   Reinhardt Limbacht

CSA Intellectually Impaired Cricketer of the Year                                Papama Mtana

CSA Provincial Three-Day Cricketer of the Year                                   Keegan Petersen

CSA Provincial One-Day Cricketer of the Year                                      Devon Conway

CSA Provincial T20 Cricketer of the Year                                                 Ross McMillan

KFC Mini-Cricket Coach of the Year                                                          Nokuzola Javu


Facebook comments:

© Copyright 2012 Cricket South Africa, All Rights Reserved Designed and developed by flagshipweb