AB de Villiers named SA Cricketer of the Year
Posted by: Cricket South Africa on Friday, 6 June 2014

Rate this article: Average Rating:
Article Views:

AB DE VILLIERS became the eighth player to be named South Africa’s Cricketer of the Year when he received the award for 2014 at a gala Cricket South Africa (CSA) banquet in Sandton on Wednesday night.

The previous winners of CSA’s most prestigious award at international level are Jacques Kallis (2004 and 2011), Makhaya Ntini (2005 and 2006), Shaun Pollock (2007), Dale Steyn (2008), Graeme Smith (2009), Hashim Amla (2010 and 2013) and Vernon Philander (2012).

It was a special evening for AB De Villiers who won four awards in all – the only award for which he was nominated but did not win was the Castle Lager ODI Player of the Year which went to Quinton de Kock who scored four centuries in the period under review including three in consecutive innings.

De Villiers was also named Castle Lager Test Cricketer of the Year, was recognised by his peers as SA Players’ Player of the Year and, by popular vote of the public, SA Fans’ Cricketer of the Year.

Imran Tahir was named Blue Label Telecoms T20 International Player of the Year, Steyn won the RAM delivery of the year (he had all three nominations in this category) and Kallis won the KFC ‘So Good’ Award for his century in his final Test match appearance against India.

Marizanne Kapp was named Momentum Women’s Cricketer of the Year for the second successive year.

“This has been another great year of wonderful achievements for our top players,” commented CSA Chief Executive, Haroon Lorgat. “AB’s statistics are sheer class and speak for themselves. He is the world’s best batsman, ranked No. 1 in Test match cricket and No. 2 in ODI cricket. His highest rating of 935 points in Test cricket is the joint 10th highest of all time alongside Jacques Kallis and Matthew Hayden.

“But that only tells a part of his amazing skills. He has always been an entertainer and innovator par excellence while at the same time he has the ability to dig really deep in pressure situations. We all saw his strength of character illustrated against Australia at Adelaide in 2012 and again against India at the Bidvest Wanderers Stadium last season.

“We are proud of the scale of his achievements and, more importantly, the manner in which he does it. He is an exceptionally talented cricketer who always adapts to the needs of the team.

“Our Proteas have again displayed true world-class performances in the past year and I salute not only the Award winners but all of them for a year of great performances. The fact that there were as many as five worthy candidates for the top award speaks volumes.

“I warmly congratulate all our winners including the likes of our umpires, grounds staff and scorers, without whose contribution the game cannot be played.

“Our domestic cricket remains blessed with great talents and congratulations to all the winners in that category.”

In the domestic professional category the Sunfoil Dolphins almost swept the board. Lance Klusener was named Coach of the Year, David Miller the RAM SLAMMER and Kyle Abbott both the Domestic Players’ Player of the Year (for the second year in a row) and SACA Most Valuable Player. In addition, the Dolphins won the CSA Fair Play Award and Wilson Ngobese, head grounds curator at Sahara Stadium Kingsmead, was named CSA Groundsman of the Year.

Justin Ontong of the Nashua Mobile Cape Cobras was named Sunfoil Series Cricketer of the Season and Heino Kuhn of The Unlimited Titans the Momentum One-Day Cup Cricketer of the Season.

The Khaya Majola Lifetime Achievement Award went to Abe Williams for his services to the game over nearly 50 years. He represented Griquas as a player for more than two decades and also played for the SA Coloured Cricket Association against the South African African Cricket Board. He was involved in every aspect of cricket as player, administrator, umpire, groundsman and as coach in which capacity he laid the foundation for the current Griquas coaching programmes. He is still an active umpire at club level.




SA Cricketer of the Year:                                                                         AB de Villiers

Castle Lager Test Cricketer of the Year:                                            AB de Villiers

Castle Lager ODI Cricketer of the Year:                                             Quinton de Kock

Blue Label Telecoms T20 International Cricketer of the Year: Imran Tahir

SA Players’ Player of the Year:                                                             AB de Villiers

SA Fans’ Player of the Year:                                                                   AB de Villiers

KFC ‘So Good’ Award:                                                                              Jacques Kallis (century v India in his               final Test at Sahara Stadium Kingsmead)

RAM Delivery of the Year:                                                                      Dale Steyn (bowled Brad Haddin,   second Test match against Australia at                                                                                                   Axxess St. George’s)

Momentum women’s Cricketer of the Year:                                 Marizanne Kapp


Sunfoil Series Cricketer of the Season:                           Justin Ontong (Nashua Mobile Cape Cobras)

Momentum One-Day Cup Cricketer of the Season: Heino Kuhn (The Unlimited Titans)

RAM SLAMMER of the Season:                                          David Miller (Sunfoil Dolphins)

Coach of the Year:                                                                   Lance Klusener (Sunfoil Dolphins)

Domestic Players’ Player of the Season:                        Kyle Abbott (Sunfoil Dolphins)

CSA Fair Play Award:                                                               Sunfoil Dolphins

SACA Most Valuable Player Award:                                 Kyle Abbott (Sunfoil Dolphins)


CSA Groundsman of the Year:                                            Wilson Ngobese (Sahara Stadium Kingsmead)

CSA Scorers’ Association of the Year:                              Gauteng Cricket Board

CSA Umpires’ Umpire of the Year:                                   Shaun George

CSA Umpire of the Year:                                                       Johan Cloete


Facebook comments:

© Copyright 2012 Cricket South Africa, All Rights Reserved Designed and developed by flagshipweb