ANN7 announces final nominees for "South African of the Year" Awards
Posted by: Cricket South Africa on Friday, 1 August 2014

Rate this article: Average Rating:
Article Views:

ANN7 announced the final nominees for all the categories of ANN7 South African of the Year (SATY) awards at a star studded cocktail event at the Saxon Hotel in Sandhurst, Johannesburg. The SATY awards seek to celebrate extraordinary South Africans, who are making a difference in the lives of ordinary people.


The exclusive, high profile event featured the likes of DJ Sbu, Trevor Gumbi, Zuluboy, Nonhle Thema, Maps Maponyane, Gert Coetzee,   Mika Stefano, David Tlale, Mafikizolo, and among others. Highlights of the evening include live performances by award winning songstress Zahara, The Muses and acclaimed South African DJ Roxxi.


The final nominees for each category are:


Trendsetting Celebrity of the Year Nominations


  1. Bonang Matheba
  2. DJ Clock
  3. J’ Something
  4. Kid X
  5. KO from Teargas
  6. Mafikizolo
  7. Minenhle Dlamini


Campaign of the Year Nominations


  1. 67 Blankets Nelson Mandela
  2. KFC- Add Hope
  3. Kelloggs #breakfastforbetterdays
  4. Knorr- Masters of Time
  5. Mxit Music
  6. Share a Coke Campaign
  7. Tiles 4 Change (Anti-Drug Campaign)


Sportsperson of the Year Nominations


  1. Chad le Clos                    (Swimming)
  2. Hashim Amla                  (Cricket)
  3. Itumeleng Khune           (Soccer)
  4. Johan Cronje                  (Track and Field Athlete)
  5. Lucas Sithole  (Tennis)
  6. Marsha Cox                    (Hockey)
  7. Simon Maghakwe         (100m Sprinter)


Businessperson of the Year Nominations


  1. Basetsana Kumalo                        (Media Mogul)
  2. Daphne Mashile Nkosi                 (Exec. Chairman of Kalagadi Resources)
  3. Nicky Newton King                       (CEO of JSE)
  4. Patrice Motsepe                           (Mining Magnate)
  5. Reuel Khoza                                  (Non-Executive Chairman of Nedbank)
  6. Santie Botha                                  (Independent Non Exec. Director of Tiger Brands)
  7. Stephen Saad                (Group CEO of Aspen Pharmacare)


Spirit of Humanity Nominations


  1. Beka Ntsanwisi                              (Limpopo’s "Mother Teresa")
  2. Dr Imtiaz Sooliman                      (Gift of the Givers)
  3. John Perlman                                (Dreamfields)
  4. Justin Foxton                                 (The Peace Agency)
  5. Lesley Osler                                   (Hantam Community Project)
  6. Rev. Eunice Marubelela               (Community Builder)
  7. Sbu Buthelezi                                (Community Builder)




Young South African of the Year Nominations


  1. Afeefah Patel                                 (Rhino Conservation)
  2. Ethel Phiri                                     (Scientist and Researcher)
  3. Kyle Shepherd                               (Jazz Musician)
  4. Nkululeko Mboniswa                   (Film Producer)
  5. Samantha Baynon                        (Social Activist)
  6. Sandile Kubeka                             (Youngest Doctor)
  7. Simphiwe Mashexa                       (Founder of BEAT Magazine SA)



South African of the Year


  1. Archbishop Desmond Tutu
  2. DJ Sbu
  3. Dr. Nkosazana Dlamini Zuma
  4. Johnny Clegg
  5. Jonathan Jansen
  6. Leslie Sedibe
  7. Thuli Madonsela




Voting Process


Voting is open to the public from 1st August till 22nd August 2014. People can vote for their favourite extraordinary South Africans as follows;  

To vote for Trendsetting Celebrity
SMS CELEB + [Nominee Number] to 43043 or Email CELEB + [Nominee Number] to 

To vote for Campaign of the Year
SMS CAMP + [Nominee Number] to 43043 or Email CAMP + [Nominee Number] to 

To vote for Sportsperson of the Year
SMS SPORTS + [Nominee Number] to 43043 or Email SPORTS + [Nominee Number] to 

To vote for Businessperson of the Year
SMS BIZS + [Nominee Number] to 43043 or Email BIZS + [Nominee Number] to 

To vote for Spirit of Humanity
SMS HUMAN+ [Nominee Number] to 43043 or Email HUMAN + [Nominee Number] to 

To vote for Young South African of the Year
SMS YOUNG + [Nominee Number] to 43043 or Email YOUNG + [Nominee Number] to 

To vote for South African of the Year
SMS SATY + [Nominee Number] to 43043 or Email SATY+ [Nominee Number] to 

Or visit  to vote for your favourite nominee online.

Send more SMSs to make your favourite nominee a WINNER. No limitations on SMS votings.

Each SMS costs only R1.50. T&C apply. All entries must be submitted via SMS, EMAIL or online only.




All votes from all mediums will be collected and analyzed by a panel of jury. Winners will be announced at the annual celebration of extraordinary South Africans to mark 1st anniversary of Africa News Network (ANN7). On 6th September, ANN7 will be the proud host of the inaugural South African of the year 2014. SATY Awards is not just another awards evening, but instead an evening to demonstrate that we can all make a difference of value.


The whole process will be audited by KPMG and their years of experience will ensure that this award is above reproach and bias.



Facebook comments:

© Copyright 2012 Cricket South Africa, All Rights Reserved Designed and developed by flagshipweb